Other Vehicle Registrations in Maine
SUMMARY: How to Register Your Special Vehicle in Maine
Special vehicle types, including ATVs and snowmobiles, trailers, and custom-built cars, have additional registration requirements before you can take them out on the roads. Be prepared to pay separate fees for these vehicles that may be in addition to standard vehicle registration fees.
Registering ATVs and Snowmobiles
ATV and snowmobile registrations are valid from July 1 through June 30 of the following year.
The Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife ( IF&W) discourages owners from registering or renewing too early. Applications submitted before May 1 expires June 30 of the same year. Applications submitted after May 1 will expire June 30 of the following year.
You will need to visit a designated agent to register your ATV or snowmobile. You also can phone the IF&W at (207) 822-6460.
There are dozens of designated agents in Maine.
You must provide the vehicle's serial number, make, year, and bill of sale. If the previous owner had a registration certificate, take it with you.
The fee is $71 for ATVs and $71 for snowmobiles for residents. New vehicle owners are charged a 5.5% sales tax, if the dealer wasn't paid. You cannot register online.
To renew your registration, you can go online, visit a designated agent.
The quickest way to renew is renew online.
With online renewals, you do not get a temporary registration to print out because the IF&W must verify the information. You will be asked to type in the vehicle type, registration number, make, year, serial number, and color. Your new registration stickers will be mailed to you in about a week.
ATV Registration for Non-Residents
If you're a non-resident, you can register a vehicle or renew a registration online.
The fee to register an ATV or renew an ATV registration is $120, which includes a handling fee. The registration is good for one year. Registrations are valid from July 1 until June 30 of the following year.
For more information call (207) 287-8000.
You can wait until you visit Maine to renew your registration and get your stickers. You just need to visit a designated agent. It is best to review a list of agents before your trip to locate one where you plan to stay.
ATV Driving Rules
Maine has more than 4,000 miles of open ATV trails, and many operators join clubs for the latest news on new routes and where to ride. ATV drivers cannot ride on snowmobile trails unless they are designated for dual use. You can recognize ATV trails by posted signs. The ATV signs are green and white, with an ATV symbol in the middle.
Driving ATVs on public roads is against the law, but there are exceptions. Some towns open access to ATV drivers on certain roads and will post signs for travel on the extreme right of way.
Young drivers between 10 and 16 years old are required to take an ATV safety course.
If you violate ATV laws, you may be fined and lose your hunting, trapping, guiding, or fishing licenses.
Snowmobile Registration for Non-Residents
Non-residents can register their snowmobiles online or through an agent. There is a fee scale for registering snowmobiles. A seasonal registration is $120.
Non-residents also can register snowmobiles through an agent when they come to Maine. It is a good idea to review a list of agents before your trip to locate one in the area you plan to visit.
Snowmobile Driving Rules
Maine has 13,000 miles of groomed snowmobile trails, making it a popular destination point for outdoor enthusiasts from across the nation. Once you register your snowmobile, you have access to all Maine's posted trails.
With so many places to ride, Maine authorities expect drivers to stay away from private homes, hospitals, nursing homes, and churches. You cannot drive along, or next to, railroad tracks.
Sleds must stay off public roads other than to cross them, unless they are posted for snowmobile use. Some rural towns allow snowmobiles on certain roads, allowing drivers access to gas stations and restaurants. Stay to the extreme right of the road.
There are no speed limits on Maine trails. Sledders are expected to show reasonable judgment, based on weather and trail conditions as well as trail use. It is against the law to drive a snowmobile in a reckless manner that endangers other people or damages property. Violators face fines.
Registering Off-Road Motorcycles
Off-road motorcycles are considered ATVs in Maine. You must follow the same rules as you would for registering and operating ATVs. Even if your dual sport motorcycle's already registered for street use, you can also register it as an ATV so you can ride it on off-road trails.
Maine residents must register the trailers used to tow ATVs and snowmobiles. Registrations are good for 1 year or 2 years. They can be handled at a Bureau of Motor Vehicles branch office or most municipal offices.
The documents you need to show for a new trailer bought from a dealer are the green dealer's certificate and blue title application.
The documents you need to show from a private sale are a signed bill of sale and the title.
Renewals are processed online, at BMV branch offices, and most municipal offices.
If you are renewing a registration online, your certificate should arrive by mail in 7 business days.
The online Rapid Renewal Service for Trailers is only for utility trailers, ATV trailers, snowmobile trailers, boat trailers, and semi-trailers. The service is not available to camper trailers.
The following are the fees for registering trailers:
- Trailers under 2,000 lbs.:
- 1 year: $12.50.
- 2 years: $24.
- Trailers over 2,000 lbs.:
- 1 year: $22.
- 2 years: $43.
Motorhomes and Camper Trailers
If you have a recreational vehicle (RV) or motorhome, the Maine BMV requires you to register it before you take it out and about. You will need to visit your local ME BMV office and:
- Pay excise tax.
- Present your bill of sale.
- Present your certificate of title or blue title application.
- Pay the 5.5% sales tax, if purchased from a private sale.
- Pay the registration fee. Fees will vary depending on the weight of your vehicle.
For more information, visit the Maine BMV website.
If you have a custom-built car, you'll need to complete a few additional steps before you can have it registered in Maine.
First, send a completed Application and Assignment of New Vehicle Identification Number (Form MVT-6) to the Maine BMV at the address listed on the form. You'll need to also include any supporting receipts or documents proving you own each of the major parts used.
From there, you'll need have your car inspected by the Maine BMV. They will notify you of your inspection date. Once you pass the inspection, the BMV representative will give you a vehicle identification number (VIN).
Once this process is complete, you're ready to register your vehicle, which is the same process as registering standard cars and trucks. Follow the instructions listed on our Maine Car Registration page.
Scooters and Mopeds in Maine
Scooters and mopeds in Maine are differentiated by their wheel and engine sizes. Each type of vehicle has its own registration and licensing requirements.
Registration and licensing information is below. For more detailed information, see our Scooters, Mopeds, Etc. in Maine page.
Maine defines a motor scooter as a vehicle with:
- 2 or 3 wheels that are less than 10 inches in diameter.
- A gas-powered motor less than 25 CCs (cubic centimeters) OR an electric motor up to 750 watts.
Motor scooters DO NOT have to be registered in Maine. You can operate a scooter with any class of driver's license.
A moped is a vehicle with:
- 2 or 3 wheels with diameters of 10 inches more.
- A gas motor no more than 50 CCs OR an electric motor up to 1,500 watts.
You must register your moped just as you would any other vehicle. To legally operate it, you can have any class of driver's license in Maine.
- Application and Assignment of New Vehicle Identification Number
- Apply for a new vehicle identification number (VIN) with the Maine BMV if the original VIN was destroyed OR you have a homemade vehicle.