Paperwork When Selling a Car in Maine
Custom Maine Bill of Sale for $4.99
Simplifing the sale of a vehicle between private parties. Just enter the info, then download and print. It's that easy!
- State specific for your transaction
- Quick auto-fill feature
- Just fill out, print, and sign
Paperwork Required to Sell a Vehicle in Maine
State laws, federal laws, and unwritten social laws all come into play when you sell your car in Maine. A little research goes a long way, so we're here to help get you started.
Selling a Vehicle in Maine
Laws and requirements for selling a car in Maine are stricter when pertaining to transactions between dealers and buyers, as opposed to private sales between non-affiliated individuals. However, the rules laid out for official business transactions offer a reliable general guide for private transactions.
It's important to have full transparency when selling your car. Even though it's only required for cars being sold by a dealer, posting a Used Vehicle Buyer's Guide on your car's window may be beneficial to your sale. This will give potential buyers the following information:
- Make, model, and year of the car.
- Prior use history.
- All major mechanical problems, even if they have been repaired.
- Damage caused by fire, flood, or collision resulting in excessive repair costs
For more information about getting your car on the market and ensuring a successful sale, read our step-by-step Guide to Selling Your Car.
Required Documents in Maine
You'll need the following documents when you sell your car in Maine:
* These documents are optional if they have already been sufficiently addressed on the vehicle's certificate of title.
Duplicate Maine Title
If your original car title has been lost, stolen, or damaged, you can apply for a duplicate title or certificate of salvage. You will need to fill out a Request to Re-issue a Certificate of Title (Form MVT-8) and pay the $33 fee. You can request expedited processing by paying an additional $10 fee.
All applications must be signed by you and submitted by mail or taken to your local Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) office in person.
For more information, visit our Replacing a Lost Title in Maine page.
Bill of Sale
Even if all of the sale information is included on the back of the certificate of title that you provide the buyer, you may be requested to additionally provide a bill of sale.
Buyers may want a bill of sale as extra proof that they now own the vehicle, in order to avoid any future complications. You may also want to keep a copy for your own records.
A bill of sale will usually include information including:
- The vehicle type.
- The vehicle make, model, and year of manufacture.
- The odometer reading and vehicle identification number (VIN).
- The purchase price.
- Your name, address, and signature.
- The buyer's name, address, and signature.
We have a template you can use on our Bill of Sale Form page.
Vehicle History Reports in Maine
When selling your car in Maine, it makes sense to go ahead and get a complete vehicle history report before beginning the process. It's common for potential buyers to order a report before they commit to buying your car, so having one ready may expedite the sales process.
A vehicle history report will include information about the car's history, including:
- Accident and damages (including flood damage).
- Previous owners.
- Odometer reading.
- Market price.
You can order a vehicle history report today, right here on our website!
Forms for Easy Download
Odometer Information (Form MVT-32)
Request to Re-issue a Certificate of Title (Form MVT-8)
Optional helpful links:
Odometer Information - MVT-32
Disclose the number of miles on a vehicle you're transferring ownership of in Maine.
Request to Reissue a Certificate of Title - MVT-8
Request a replacement ME vehicle title if the original was lost, stolen, damaged, or unreadable.