Ticket Fines and Penalties in Maryland
Find a Traffic Ticket Attorney
Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed.
- Quick step-by-step process.
- Matched to Best Attorney.
- Free Service. No Hidden Charges. Confidential.
MD Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Traffic ticket fines are uniform throughout MD; they do not vary by county or district. The exact fine amount will be posted on your citation.
If you cannot find your ticket, read what procedures to follow in our lost traffic tickets page.
(Plead Guilty or Guilty With an Explanation)
- Pay the fine.
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation).
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates.
Learn more about Paying your Traffic Ticket »
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Request waiver hearing (could lower or raise your fine).
- Contest traffic ticket via trial.
- Choose to represent yourself or hire an attorney.
- Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties.
- Be found guilty and pay fines and related court fees; have option to appeal.
- Charges dismissed, only pay related court fees; no points added to record.
Learn more about Fighting your Traffic Ticket »
Auto insurance Rate Increase
Another cost from your traffic ticket may come in the form of increased car insurance rates. The Maryland district court alerts the Motor Vehicle Administration of all traffic ticket convictions, resulting in added points on your driving record. Extra points could cause your car insurance premiums to increase. Should this occur when it comes time to renew your insurance policy, always remember that you can shop online for a new provider by comparing car insurance rates from a variety of auto insurance companies.
Maryland Traffic Ticket Penalties
Penalties are different than fines in that fines refer to exact fees, while penalties refer to points and loss of driving privileges. Penalties vary depending on the type of driver's license you hold (learner's permit, provisional license, CDL, etc.), severity of infraction and status of your driving record.
Maryland Point System
Maryland assigns points for moving traffic violations. These points stay on your driving record for 2 years, starting from the date of the violation.
Some of the more common infractions come with the following points:
- Driving with a suspended license―12 points.
- DUI―12 points.
- Failing to remain at the scene of an accident involving property damage (higher points for accidents involving injury)- 8 points.
- Failing to stop at a red light―2 points.
- Failing to stop for flashing school bus―3 points.
- Improper passing―1 points.
- Failure to yield right-of-way―1 points.
- Improper U-turn―1 points.
Accumulating points on your driving record will prompt the MVA to take the following actions:
- 3 to 4 points within a span of 2 years―The MVA will send you a warning letter.
- 5 to 7 points within a span of 2 years―You'll be required to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP).
- 8 to 11 points within a span of 2 years―Your driver's license will be suspended.
- 12 points or more―Your license will be revoked.
For more detailed information, visit our page on Maryland's point system.
Driver's License Suspension, Revocation and Cancellation
The loss of driving privileges comes with major repercussions, including reinstatement requirements and fees, and increased car insurance rates. Given the severity of these penalties, it's best to know what it means if your driver's license is suspended, revoked or canceled:
Suspended License―The temporary withdrawal of your driver's license. Depending on your situation the MVA may allow you to drive on a restricted license (limited to driving to and from work or school).
Revoked License―The withdrawal of your driving privileges until the MVA decides you're fit to drive again. Unlike a suspended license, a revoked license comes with an extended waiting period before you can drive again, and even then there is no guarantee that the MVA will allow you to apply for a reinstated driver's license.
Canceled License―Your driving privileges have been terminated.
Your license can be be suspended, revoked or canceled for several reasons including too many points on your driving record or for some of the following violations:
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI).
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Attempting to elude a police officer.
- Turning off vehicle lights to avoid being identified.
Penalties for Drivers Younger Than 18 Years Old
If you are younger than 18 years old and hold a provisional driver's license you'll face the following penalties if convicted of a moving violation:
- 1st offense―Mandatory enrollment in a Driver Improvement Program..
- 2nd offense―suspension of driving privileges for 30 days, followed by a restricted license period of 90 days (can only drive to and from school and/or work).
- 3rd offense―suspension of driving privileges for 180 days, mandatory enrollment in a Driver Improvement Program, followed by a restricted license period of 180 days.
- 4th offense or subsequent offenses ―Revocation of driving privileges.
In addition, the co-signer of your license (a parent or guardian) may cancel your provisional license. Should this occur, your MD license will remain canceled until your 18th birthday.
For more detailed information on driving penalties, consult Maryland's Driver's Manual.
Penalties for Maryland Commercial Drivers
You must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation conviction, regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving. You must also notify the Motor Vehicle Administration within 30 days if the conviction occurred out of state.
You will lose your MD CDL for 1 year if convicted of any of the following offenses:
- Driving any vehicle with a blood alcohol count (BAC) of 0.08% or higher.
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%.
- Refusing to submit to a sobriety test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Using the vehicle to commit a felony.
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a suspended, revoked or canceled CDL.
- Causing a fatality through negligent driving.
These violations include:
- Speeding 15 MPH over the posted speed limit.
- Reckless driving.
- Improper lane changes.
- Following a vehicle too closely.
- Driving a CMV without holding a CDL.
- Driving a CMV without having your CDL in your possession.
- Driving a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement.
- Violating a state law of texting while driving.
A 2nd conviction of any combination of these violations will lead to the loss of your driving privileges for 60 days, or 120 days for a 3rd or subsequent conviction of any combination of these offenses within 3 years.
You CDL will be disqualified for 90 days for a 1st offense of the following convictions:
- Violating a driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting nonhazardous materials
- Violating a driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting hazardous materials required to be placarded, or while driving a vehicle designed to transport 16 passengers or more.