Suspended License in Maryland
A personal driving record can be obtained via the Maryland MVA. A potentially faster and more convenient option is to get a copy of your driver record from our approved partner.
Driver License Suspension in Maryland
If your Maryland driver's license is suspended or revoked by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), you'll need to satisfy your suspension requirements to have it reinstated.
Your driver's license may be suspended for reasons including:
- Failing to pay a traffic ticket.
- Accumulating too many driving record points.
- Being medically unfit, as determined by the Medical Advisory Board.
- Violating a driver's license restriction.
- Refusing to take an alcohol breath test.
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI/DWI).
On this page, you'll find information about your suspension and how to reinstate your license.
About Your Suspended License in MD
The duration of your license suspension and your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your violation.
When your driver's license is suspended or revoked, the Maryland MVA will mail you a notice of suspension or revocation.
You must surrender your driver's license to the Maryland MVA no later than the date noted on your suspension notice. If you do not turn your license in by the date on the suspension notice your suspension period will be extended.
You can surrender your driver's license to any Maryland MVA office.
Your license can be suspended:
- For at least 6 months, if you violate a driver license restriction.
- Until you meet the court's requirements if your fail to satisfy a traffic citation.
- If you accumulate too many driving points on your driving record.
- For 270 days to 2 years, if you fail or refuse to submit to an alcohol test, depending on the circumstances of the incident.
Depending on the number of revocations you've had, you must wait anywhere from 6 months to up to 24 months to reinstate a revoked driver's license.
NOTE: Depending on your offense, you may also receive additional court suspensions and other penalties.
Check Your Driver License Status
If you accumulate too many driving record points within 2 years, the Maryland DMV will suspend or revoke your driver's license.
The Maryland MVA will:
- Send you a warning letter after 3 to 4 points.
- Require you to complete a Driver Improvement Program after 5 to 7 points.
- Suspend your driver's license after 8 to 11 points.
- Revoke your driver's license after 12 points or more.
You can check your driver license status and how many points you have by ordering your Maryland driving record.
Suspension Hearings in Maryland
If you do not agree with your Maryland DMV license suspension/revocation, you can request a MVA administrative hearing.
NOTE: Maryland MVA hearings have no effect on criminal court decisions. All of the information you need to request a hearing will appear on your suspension notice.
If you'd like to request a hearing, you must do so:
- Within 15 days of receiving a suspension notice: For driving record points suspensions.
- Before your suspension date: For restriction violation suspensions.
- Within 30 days of receiving your suspension: For alcohol-related suspensions or refusing a blood alcohol tests.
- NOTE: If you request a hearing within 10 days AND you surrender your driver's license, your driver's license will not be suspended before your hearing.
To request a Maryland MVA administrative hearing, follow the instructions provided with your suspension/revocation notice. You'll need:
- A check/money order made payable to “Maryland State Treasurer" for the $150 filing fee.
- Mail the request to the address provided on the suspension notice.
- Deliver your hearing request in person at:
Office of Administrative Hearings
11101 Gilroy Road
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
For suspensions/revocations for medical reasons, contact the MVA Driver Wellness and Safety Division to request a hearing:
- Driver Wellness and Safety Division
6601 Ritchie Highway
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
- (410) 767-7759.
- TTY (301) 729-4563.
Find an attorney who can help with your license suspension.
Reinstate Your Suspended License in Maryland
The requirements to reinstate your suspended Maryland driver's license will depend on your offense.
NOTE: You may also need to satisfy additional court requirements if your suspension/revocation was caused by a criminal conviction.
Generally, to reinstate your suspended driver license you'll need to:
- Wait out the duration of your suspension.
- Complete a Driver Improvement Program, if necessary.
- Satisfy the requirements of a citation, if applicable.
- Pay any applicable fees or fines.
You may also need to apply for a duplicate driver's license when you reinstate your license.
Please refer to your Maryland DMV suspension/revocation notice for specific details about your reinstatement.
If the Medical Advisory Board suspended your license, you may need to request a hearing. Please see “Suspension Hearings in Maryland" above.
NOTE: If your request is approved, you'll need to apply for a new driver’s license.
Get car insurance quotes with our Insurance Center to find a cheaper policy.
Reinstate a Revoked Driver's License
To reinstate a revoked driver's license, you'll need to:
- Wait out your revocation period.
- Visit or call the Maryland MVA Driver Wellness and Safety Division.
- In person: 6601 Ritchie Highway, Glen Burnie, MD 21062.
- (410) 767-7759.
- TTY (301) 729-4563.
- Request a reinstatement and provide your:
- Full name.
- Date of birth.
- Driver's license number.
The Maryland MVA will review your driving record and determine if you're eligible for a reinstatement. You will either receive a denial notice or a reinstatement application.
If you are eligible, you'll need to:
- Return your completed application and reinstatement fee to the MVA Driver Wellness and Safety Division for a final approval. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your MD Driver's License" below.)
- Bring your reinstatement approval notice to your local Maryland MVA office and apply for a new driver's license.
NOTE: You may be required to pass a knowledge, driving, and vision exam.
Obtain a Restricted Driver's License
If your driver's license is suspended, the Maryland MVA will determine your eligibility for a restricted driver's license that allows you to drive:
- To and from:
- Authorized locations.
- After installing an ignition interlock device for alcohol/drug-related suspensions.
Contact the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration for more information.
- (410) 768-7000.
- TTY: (800) 492-4575.
- E-mail: MVACS@mdot.state.md.us .
Fees to Reinstate Your MD Suspended License
The fees to reinstate your suspended or revoked Maryland driver's license differ depending on your offense.
Some fees you may need to pay include:
- New driver's license: $9/year.
- Reinstatement for Medical Advisory Board suspensions: $45 or $75, depending on your medical impairment.
For specific fees relating to your suspension/revocation, please refer to your suspension notice or contact the MD MVA.
Accepted Payment Methods
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration accepts the following forms of payment:
- In person:
- Check made payable to “Motor Vehicle Administration." (Must include your driver's license number and phone number.)
- VISA, MasterCard, and American Express credit/debit card.
- By mail: Check made payable to “Motor Vehicle Administration."
- Must include your driver's license number and phone number.