Drivers Ed in Maryland
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in Maryland
If you're a new driver, regardless of your age, you'll need to complete a Driver's Ed course in order to obtain your driver's license from the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).
Your MD driver's education course will include both classroom sessions and in-car instruction, and will help you develop safe driving habits and pass your driving tests.
On this page you'll find information about Maryland Driver's Ed courses and how to move on to the next steps of the Maryland Graduated Licensing System (GLS).
MD Driver's Ed Eligibility Requirements
The Maryland DMV's Rookie Driver program applies to new drivers of all ages and requires you to complete a MD Driver's Ed course.
Before starting the driving portion of your driver's education course, you need to get a learner's permit first. You must be at least 15 years and 9 months old to apply for your permit. For more information, visit our Driver's Permits in Maryland page.
NOTE: Contact your Driver's Ed provider to check if they have a minimum age requirement for enrollment. You can usually begin the classroom portion without a learner's permit.
New Maryland Residents
If you are a new Maryland resident and have held an out-of-state driver's license for less than 18 months, you'll need to complete a Maryland MVA-approved driver's education course.
At this time, the Maryland MVA DOES NOT ACCEPT out-of-state Driver's Ed completion certificates.
Please contact the MD DMV for more information.
- Phone: (410) 768-7000.
- TTY: (800) 492-4575.
About Your Maryland Driver's Ed Course
You must complete a Maryland Driver's Ed course before applying for your provisional driver's license if:
- You have only held your out-of-state driver's license for less than 18 months.
- You are a new driver, regardless of your age.
The Maryland MVA provides a list of approved driver education schools for new drivers to choose from. Visit the MVA website to find a list of Driver's Ed programs near you.
Contact your specific provider for information about scheduling and cost.
NOTE: At this time, the MD Motor Vehicle Administration DOES NOT ACCEPT online Driver's Ed, home study, or distance learning courses.
Completing a driver's education course will help to prepare you for your DMV written test and driving test.
The course will also help you understand:
- Safe driving practices.
- Traffic laws and violations.
- How to be a responsible driver.
The Maryland MVA provides additional learning resources for new drivers on its website.
Classroom & Behind-the-Wheel Hours
Regardless of the program provider you choose, your Maryland Driver's Ed course will consist of at least:
- 30 hours of classroom lessons.
- 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
After you pass your course, your driver's education instructor will submit your proof of completion to the Maryland MVA and you'll be one step closer to earning your MD driver's license.
Getting Your Provisional Driver's License
After completing your driver's education requirement, your next steps towards your Maryland driver's license will vary depending on your age.
If you're younger than 25 years old, you'll need to:
- Hold your learner's permit for at least 9 months. You must not receive any traffic violations during this time.
- Complete at least 60 hours of supervised driving and submit a completed Skills Log & Practice Guide (Form RD-006).
- Have your parent or legal guardian cosign your applications/forms, if you are younger than 18 years old.
- Pass a driving test.
If you are 25 years old or older, you'll need to:
- Hold your learner's permit for at least 45 days.
- Complete 14 hours of supervised driving (3 hours must be at night) and submit a completed Skills Log & Practice Guide (Form RD-006).
- Not have been convicted of ANY moving violations.
NOTE: Whenever you visit a Maryland Motor Vehicle Administrationoffice, be prepared to provide proof of your identity, legal presence, Social Security number (SSN), and Maryland residency. Visit the MVA website for a complete list of acceptable documents.
For more information about applying for your MD driver's license, visit our pages on the following topics:
- Drivers Permits in Maryland
- Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers)
- Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+)
New Driver & Coach Practice Guide with Driver Logs - RD-006
Refer to this MVA guide and fill out the practice log when a new driver gets behind-the-wheel.