DUI Attorneys in Massachusetts
If you're arrested for operating under the influence (OUI)—also known as a DUI—in Massachusetts, you might decide to hire a lawyer. A DUI attorney can handle OUI and related charges and help you understand the penalties you'll face for a DUI conviction.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Keep reading for more information about DUI attorneys in Massachusetts.
In Massachusetts, operating under the influence of drugs/alcohol (OUI) is a crime. If you get an OUI, you might consider hiring a lawyer to represent you.
When looking for a DUI lawyer, consider the following tips:
- Start looking for appropriate attorneys by:
- Getting references from people you know who might have hired or worked with a DUI attorney in the past.
- Finding local attorneys who have probably worked with local courts and police.
- Then, schedule consultations with several lawyers and ask them about:
- Their experience handling OUI, driving under the influence (DUI), or driving while intoxicated (DWI) cases.
- What they can and can't do as your lawyer, so you know what to expect.
- Their fees and payment schedules.
Keep reading to find out more about the types of cases DUI attorneys handle.
A DUI attorney may handle both OUI charges and related charges.
In Massachusetts, you can be charged with an OUI if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is:
- At least 0.08%, if you're 21 years old or older.
- At least 0.04%, if you're driving a commercial vehicle.
- At least 0.02%, in you're under 21 years old.
DUI-related charges include:
- Operating a motor vehicle with an open container of alcohol in your vehicle (including if your passenger is drinking.)
- Operating a vehicle while under the influence of a drug, including illegal drugs, prescription medications, and over-the-counter medicine.
- Causing a death as a result of OUI.
You can ask prospective DUI attorneys about the types of cases they've handled to ensure the lawyer you choose has experience with charges similar to yours.
In many OUI cases, your blood alcohol content (BAC) reading is enough evidence to convict you.
If you're convicted, a DUI attorney can represent you during sentencing and/or help you understand the penalties you get.
MA DWI penalties for a 1st offense can include:
- Driver's license suspension by the Registry of Motor Vehicles for 1 year. This is in addition to any criminal penalties.
- A fine up to $5,000.
- Up to 2 1/2 years in jail.
- Completion of an alcohol education program.
You may have different deadlines to complete your penalties, several places to report to, and additional paperwork to file.
Your OUI lawyer can explain how and when to meet these requirements so that you can successfully complete your sentence and avoid additional penalties.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!