Paperwork When Selling a Car in Massachusetts
Custom Massachusetts Bill of Sale for $4.99
Simplifing the sale of a vehicle between private parties. Just enter the info, then download and print. It's that easy!
- State specific for your transaction
- Quick auto-fill feature
- Just fill out, print, and sign
Paperwork Required to Sell Your Car in Massachusetts
Don't be intimidated by the prospect of selling a car in Massachusetts. With the right approach, it can be pretty painless and straightforward. Here we'll give you all the paperwork you need to complete in order to have the title and registration transferred over to a new owner.
Selling a Vehicle in Massachusetts
To sell your car in Massachusetts, the first order of business is to find a buyer. We've created a comprehensive guide to what's involved, that includes:
- How to come up with a reasonable price tag.
- How and where to advertise your vehicle.
- Preparing your car to show to potential buyers.
If a buyer is interested in your vehicle, then it's simply a matter of signing off on the title and otherwise following the MA Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) requirements for successfully transferring ownership.
Duplicate Massachusetts Title
In the event your car title certificate is misplaced, stolen, or damaged, you can obtain a duplicate from the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) either online, by mail, or in person at a MA RMV branch office.
To do so:
- Download the Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title (Form T20558)
- Request to have it sent to you by calling the RMV telephone center at (800) 858-3926.
You can also pick up a form in person at a MA RMV office or licensed state insurance agency.
You'll need to submit the completed application to the Massachusetts RMV along with payment for the $25 duplicate title fee.
If the vehicle had a lien that's now been taken care of, you'll also need to include a lien release from the lienholder (on the lienholder's letterhead).
For more information, visit our Replacing a Lost Title in Massachusetts page.
Duplicate Registration in Massachusetts
You may similarly need to obtain a duplicate registration document if the original has been lost, stolen, or damaged. You can apply for the duplicate registration over the phone by calling (800) 858-3926, by mail, online, or in person at a MA RMV office.
You'll be walked through the process of applying for a duplicate registration if you're using the website, dealing with the telephone center, or visiting an RMV office in person. If you're applying by mail, you'll supply the following information:
- Your vehicle's year, make, and model.
- The vehicle identification number (VIN).
- The license plate number.
For more information, visit our Replacing a Lost Registration in Massachusetts page.
Vehicle History Reports
A potential buyer of your car may request a vehicle history report before they commit to anything. The report will include pertinent background information about the car, such as accidents, odometer fraud, and theft.
If you are having difficulty selling your vehicle, try obtaining a vehicle history report to show to potential buyers. Having one on hand just may seal the deal. You can learn more on our Vehicle History Reports page.
Transferring MA License Plates After a Sale
Once you've sold your vehicle, you must remove your license plates. Under the Massachusetts RMV law, you will have 7 days after the official transfer of ownership to attach those plates to a new car.
For more information, read the FAQs About the Seven-Day Registration Transfer Law.