Suspended CDL in Louisiana
Join 18,882 Americans who searched DMV.ORG for commercial insurance rates:
Commercial Driver’s License Suspension in Louisiana
If your Louisiana commercial driver’s license (CDL) is suspended/disqualified by the Department of Public Safety & Corrections (DPS) Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV), you must satisfy your suspension requirements before your can reinstate your CDL.
Your CDL may be disqualified, suspended, or revoked for reasons including:
- DWI/DUI convictions and failing/refusing a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Reckless driving/speeding.
- Texting and driving.
On this page you’ll find information about your Louisiana CDL suspension/disqualification and how to reinstate your license.
About Your Suspended CDL in LA
The duration of your CDL suspension and reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense.
NOTE: In addition to Louisiana DMV penalties, you may also face additional criminal charges from state/federal courts.
Your CDL will be suspended for 1 year, or 3 years if driving with hazardous materials, for violations including:
- DWI/DUI convictions and failing/refusing a BAC test.
- Felonies involving your vehicle.
- Hit and runs.
- Violations of your existing revocation, suspension, or disqualification.
If you commit any of the above offenses more than once, your CDL will be disqualified permanently.
Your CDL will be suspended for 1 year if you receive 3 convictions for reckless driving within 12 months.
If you drive with a suspended license, you may receive an additional 1-year suspension from the LA OMV.
Other violations that may result in a CDL suspension/disqualification include:
- Speeding 15 mph or more above the speed limit.
- Following too closely to other cars.
- Erratic lane changes.
- Commercial vehicle/truck accidents.
- Driving without the proper commercial driver’s license endorsements.
For information about your specific reinstatement requirements and suspension duration:
- Visit your local Louisiana DMV reinstatement office in person.
- Call the LA OMV at (225) 925-6146.
- Submit an online request on the LA OMV website.
NOTE: Some violations can result in the suspension or revocation of both your CDL and non-commercial driver’s license. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Louisiana page.
Federal Penalties & Suspensions
In addition to state laws, you are also subject to federal regulations, which are controlled by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). These include:
- License disqualifications and fines for violating out-of-service orders.
- Suspensions and disqualifications ranging from 60 days to life for violations and convictions including:
- Violating railroad-highway grade crossings.
- Excessive speeding and reckless driving.
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol.
- Leaving the scene of an accident you are involved in.
NOTE: You must notify your employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic violation.
For more information on federal regulations and penalties, please see the FMCSA website.
Check Your Commercial Driver’s License Status
You can check the status of your CDL and see your traffic violations by ordering your official driving record.
CDL suspensions due to traffic violations will remain on your official driving record for :
- 10 years.
- Until you have satisfied all of your requirements.
Traffic violations that don’t result in a suspension can remain on your Louisiana driving record for 3 years.
DUI Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions
In Louisiana, you can be convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) if you are caught driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
If you are convicted of a DUI, your CDL will be disqualified for:
- 1 year for your 1st offense.
- 3 years for your 1st offense if operating a commercial vehicle carrying hazardous material.
- Life for a subsequent DUI offenses.
Depending on the circumstances of your offense, you may need to satisfy requirements from both the courts and the Louisiana OMV.
You may also face a suspension/revocation of your non-commercial driver’s license. For more information, please see our DUI & DWI in Louisiana page.
CDL Suspension Hearings and Appeals
Depending on your violation, you may be able to request a Louisiana DMV administrative hearing if you don’t agree with your suspension.
You must request a hearing within 30 days of your arrest or of receiving your driver’s license suspension notice.
To request an administrative hearing or re-hearing, submit a request:
- In person at your local Louisiana DMV office.
- By mail to:
Office of Motor Vehicles
P. O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
NOTE: If you’d like to appeal the decision of an administrative hearing, contact your local Louisiana district court within 30 days of the decision.
Reinstate Your LA Commercial Driver’s License
The requirements to reinstate your Louisiana CDL will vary depending on the reason for your suspension/disqualification.
You may need to:
- Complete any court requirements/fines.
- Submit compliance documents to the LA OMV.
- Provide the LA OMV with an SR22 from your insurance company.
- Pay your commercial driver’s license reinstatement fees. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Louisiana CDL” below.)
You will need to submit your documents and payment either:
- In person at your local Louisiana OMV reinstatement office.
- Make sure the OMV office you visit can process reinstatements.
- By mail to:
Office of Motor Vehicles
P. O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
CDL reinstatements completed in person will be processed immediately. Reinstatements by mail can take up to 10 business days.
If you’ve already submitted your commercial driver’s license suspension compliance documents, you can pay your reinstatement fees by calling the Louisiana DMV at (225) 925-6146.
For more information, please visit your local Louisiana OMV reinstatement office, or call the number above.
Obtain a Restricted Louisiana License
If both your Louisiana CDL and non-commercial driver’s license have been suspended, you may be eligible for a temporary hardship license, which allows you to drive a non-commercial vehicle to and from authorized locations.
To apply for a hardship license, you may need:
- An SR22 from your insurance company.
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
- A court order.
To determine your eligibility and find out how to apply, visit a Louisiana DMV reinstatement office or call (225) 925-6146.
Fees to Reinstate Your Louisiana CDL
Your LA OMV reinstatement fees will vary depending on the reason for your CDL disqualification or suspension.
You may also need to pay additional court fines and fees before you can reinstate your Louisiana CDL.
- DUI suspensions:
- 1st offense: $100.
- 2nd offense: $200.
- 3rd offense: $300.
- Failing/refusing a blood/breath test: $50.
- SR22 cancellation: $60.
- Other suspensions: $60.
- Credit card fee: $5.
For a complete list of fees to reinstate your Louisiana CDL, visit the LA DPS website.
NOTE: For information about your specific reinstatement fees, please contact a Louisiana OMV reinstatement office or call (225) 925-6146.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles accepts the following forms of payment:
- In person: Cash, money order, cashier’s check, certified check.
- By mail: Money order, cashier’s check, certified check.
- By phone: VISA, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover credit/debit cards.
NOTE: The LA OMV does not accept personal checks.