Replacing a Lost Registration in Louisiana

For an expedited duplicate registration, you can use a 3rd party for an additional fee. See below for more details.

Approved and contracted by the state, ABC Title provides a quick and easy alternative to the online DMV registration. For $37.95 (plus DMV fees), you can painlessly duplicate your registration and receive an instant e-registration card in just a few simple steps.

Service Comparison State Motor Vehicle Agency
Online Registration
Personal Interaction No
Shipping w/ Tracking No
E-Copy of Registration No
Priority Shipping No
Convenience Fee $3.00 $37.95
Learn More Do it for me

Start Your ABC Title Duplicate Registration

If your Louisiana registration card, registration stickers, or license plates are lost, stolen, or damaged, you could be in for a very stressful time.

Fortunately, it's a fairly simple to request replacements from the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). We’ll go through the process with you below.

Obtain a Duplicate LA Registration

If your Louisiana vehicle registration card is missing or damaged beyond recognition, you’ll want to request a replacement through the OMV as soon as you can.

For your convenience, the OMV offers drivers multiple ways to get a duplicate registration card. You can request it:

  • Online.
  • By mail.
    OR
  • In person.

We’ll take you through each option below.

Duplicate LA Stickers or License Plates

If you need to request replacement Louisiana license plates or tags for your vehicle, you’ll need to visit your local Louisiana motor vehicle office in person.

IMPORTANT: Stolen Registration Items

If your stickers or plates were stolen rather than simply lost, the OMV encourages you to file a police report after receiving your replacements.

At your local office, provide:

  • Your current registration certificate.
  • A completed Vehicle Application (Form DPSMV 1799).
  • Payment for the:
    • Applicable replacement item*:
      • License plate: $10 (includes sticker).
      • Validation sticker: $10.
    • $8 handling fee (applies to all transactions). See the fees section below for details.

If you have reason to believe that your registration stickers or license plates were stolen rather than simply lost, the Louisiana OMV encourages you to file a report with local law enforcement officials after receiving your replacements.

*NOTE: If you renewed your registration by mail and did NOT receive your registration stickers or new plates, you may request free replacements within 60 days. Notify the agent when you request your replacement items.

Fees for Duplicate LA Registrations

Here is a list of fees* associated with replacing your vehicle registration, license plates, and validation decals:

  • Duplicate registration: $12, which includes:
  • Replacement validation sticker: $10.
  • Replacement plate: $10.
  • Handling fee: Additional $8.

Online transactions will include an additional convenience fee.

If you are paying by mail, your check must include your:

  • Phone number.
  • Street address.
  • Driver’s license number.

*NOTE: Local governments sometimes charge extra fees. Check with your local OMV office to see if this applies to you.

Forms

DPSMV 1799
Vehicle Application
Office of Motor Vehicles application for a Louisiana vehicle title and registration.

Related Products and Services

DMV.ORG BBB Business Review
11,242

Number of Organ Donors who registered through DMV.ORG

Advertisement