Join 1,972,984 Americans who searched DMV.org for insurance rates
Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Louisiana in Louisiana
As a state resident, you must establish and show proof of financial responsibility before you can register and legally operate a motorcycle or moped on state roads.
In Louisiana, establishing financial responsibility (making sure you’re able to cover the cost of damages your motorcycle or moped might cause in an accident) means purchasing motorcycle insurance from an insurance carrier licensed to do business in Louisiana.
Louisiana Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Please call the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) at (225) 925-6146 if you need help determining whether your two-wheeled vehicle requires registration and insurance.
You must show proof of motorcycle insurance when you register your motorcycle or moped. Your policy must include the state's set minimums of:
- $15,000 or $30,000 for bodily injury or death.
- $25,000 for property damage.
When getting a motorcycle insurance quote, don’t forget to talk with your insurance agent about the various other kinds of coverage available with your policy.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Whether you purchase the minimum amounts of liability motorcycle insurance or go all out with the fullest protection available, you must wear a helmet if you’re operating or catching a ride on a motorcycle or moped.
Your insurance carrier will provide the OMV with information about your liability coverage including―but not limited to―new policies, changes to existing policies, and policy cancellations.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Even though the OMV will have a record of your liability coverage, you’ll still need to have proof of insurance readily available should an OMV employee or law enforcement officer request it.
Acceptable proof of insurance includes any of the following items your insurance carrier issues you:
- Insurance ID card
- Insurance binder
- A copy of the actual policy or its declaration page
- A written statement on your insurance company’s letterhead that includes your vehicle information and agent’s signature
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
The penalties for having no proof of insurance for your motorcycle or moped depend on the circumstances.
A law enforcement officer will issue you a violation, confiscate your license plates, and impound your motorcycle or moped if you’re unable to show proof of insurance.
If this happens, you must bring proof of insurance to the OMV office listed on the violation within three days; if three days pass and you’re unable to provide proof, you’ll have to register your motorcycle or moped all over again. This includes getting new license plates.
You can cancel your motorcycle’s or moped’s insurance without facing any penalties as long as you submit your license plates to your OMV office 10 days before canceling the coverage and submit a Statement of Non-Use to:
- Office of Motor Vehicles
- P.O. Box 64886
- Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Of course, your insurance carrier can cancel your insurance, too. If this happens, the OMV can place a “flag” on your driver’s license and suspend your registration and you’ll need to either:
- Get new motorcycle insurance coverage on or prior to the cancellation date.
- Turn in your license plates within 10 days of cancellation.
- Show proof you sold, traded, junked, or registered the vehicle out of state within 10 days of the cancellation date.
If you can’t meet any of the above requirements, the following reinstatement fees will apply (based on the number of days you are uninsured):
- 1-30 days: $50
- 31-90 days: $125
- 91 or more days: $225
Penalties and fees associated with failure to maintain liability coverage might vary depending your situation. For more specific information, contact your nearest OMV office equipped to handle reinstatements.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC