Apply for a License (Drivers 18+) in Louisiana

SUMMARY: How to Apply for a Louisiana Driver's License

You must apply for a Louisiana driver's license in person at an OMV office. You will need to pass the vision, knowledge, and road tests, and pay the required fees. Before applying, you must complete an approved Driver's Ed or pre-licensing course.

All you need to know to get your first driver's license from the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) can be found on this page.

If you are younger than 17 years old, your application procedures will be different. Follow the instructions on our Applying for New Teen License page.

REAL ID Requirements in Louisiana

The Louisiana OMV complies with the REAL ID Act of 2005, meaning it provides first-time driver license applicants with REAL ID-compliant driver licenses. REAL ID driver’s licenses meet the federal identification requirements required for tasks such as entering federal buildings and boarding domestic commercial flights. Without a REAL ID, you'll need to bring your passport or birth certificate for such activities.

New applicants will automatically receive a REAL ID, unless you specifically indicate on the application that you don't want one. (Options differ for renewals and replacements.) For more details, visit the OMV's guide to REAL ID licensing.

New to Louisiana?

Just Moved?

Find all the information you need to finish your moving requirements with the DMV.

If you're new to Louisiana, you may be able to have your out-of-state driver's license transferred to the OMV. You must do this within 30 days of moving to the state.

Follow the same application procedure outlined below, but in addition, you will need to:

  • Surrender your out-of-state driver's license, present a driving record from your previous state, OR submit a clearance letter.
  • If you have a valid license you will not be required to take driver's education, the pre-licensing course, or any test except the vision test.
  • Provide proof of Louisiana auto insurance (if you have a car registered in LA).

The LA OMV may waive some of your DMV tests.

Types of LA Driver's Licenses

The Louisiana OMV offers various types of driver's licenses depending on what vehicle you drive:

Application procedures and fees may vary.

Eligibility Requirements

Only legal residents of Louisiana can apply for a driver's license in the state.

Before applying, you must first complete either a:

  • Driver's education course:
    • Classroom: 30 hours.
    • Behind-the-wheel instruction: 8 hours.
  • Pre-licensing course:
    • Classroom: 6 hours.
    • Behind-the-wheel instruction: 8 hours.

For more information, visit our Driver's Education in LA page.

Apply for a Driver's License in LA

To obtain a Louisiana driver's license, you will need to appear in person at a LA OMV office. You must:

  • Provide proof of your:
    • Social Security number (SSN), such as your:
      • Social Security card.
      • Verification from the Social Security Administration (SSA).
    • Louisiana residency.
  • Pass the DMV tests:
    • Vision.
    • Driving.
    • Written knowledge.
  • Have your photo taken.
  • Pay the $32.25 fee ($18.75 if you're 70 years old or older).
    • Plus a local fee of up to $8.
    • E-checks and debit/credit cards will incur additional fees.

If you wish to apply for a REAL ID you will need to bring proof of:

  • Identity
  • Legal status.
  • Date of birth.
  • Social security number.
  • Residence (multiple documents required).

Written and Driving Tests

Your knowledge exam will consist of questions based on information taken from the LA Driver's Manual. You will need to correctly answer at least 80% of the test in order to pass. If you want to ensure passing the exam on your first attempt we suggest using an online practice test from our certified partner.

Your driving test can be taken either at a LA OMV office or from a third-party testing provider. Remember to make an appointment before your visit.

If you are taking the test in your own vehicle, you must provide the following before beginning your exam:

  • Proof of insurance.
  • Safety inspection sticker.
  • Registration certificate (vehicle must have a current validation sticker).

NOTE: Third-party providers can charge an additional fee of up to $100 for the driving test..

You will be tested on your ability perform various driving maneuvers, including:

  • Parking.
  • Yielding right of way.
  • Using lanes correctly.
  • Changing lanes.
  • Backing out.


DPSMV 2003
Application for License or Identification Card
Submit to the Office of Motor Vehicles to apply for an original, duplicate, OR renewed Louisiana driver's license OR identification card
DMV.ORG BBB Business Review