Suspended License in Kentucky
A personal driving record can be obtained via the Kentucky DDL. Another more convenient, potentially faster option is to get a copy of your driver record from our approved partner. These documents contain the same state-approved screening information offered by the DDL.
Suspended Licenses in Kentucky
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) can suspend your driver’s license for several reasons, including driving without insurance, having too many traffic violations, failing to pay child support, and more.
Read more to learn about Kentucky driver’s license suspensions, hearings and appeals, reinstatement, and restricted licenses.
About Your Suspended KY License
In Kentucky you can lose your driver’s license for the following reasons:
- Accruing 12 points within 2 years (or 7 points if you're under 18 years old).
- See our DMV Points in KY page for more information.
- Driving under the influence (DUI).
- Check out our DUI/DWI in KY page for detailed DUI penalties.
- 3 convictions of reckless driving in 12 months.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- This includes failing to give your identity and necessary aid.
- Driving without a valid driver’s license.
- Driving without the required minimum liability car insurance.
- Stealing a motor vehicle (or any part of a motor vehicle).
- Failing to satisfy court requirements (citations, summons, etc.).
- Being delinquent on child support payments.
- Failing to enroll in or complete court-mandated State Traffic School.
- Failing to complete the Graduated License education course if you are a new driver (16 years old or 17 years old).
- Illegally using your own driver’s license, or that of another driver, to purchase alcohol.
- Fleeing/evading the police.
- Refusing a chemical test when asked by a police officer.
- Violating the restrictions set by the Transportation Cabinet regarding motor vehicle operation.
- Giving false information to the Transportation Cabinet.
- Committing a felony involving a motor vehicle.
- Committing manslaughter involving a motor vehicle.
Check Your License Status
If you are concerned about your license status, or even if you just want to view your driving history, you can check your Kentucky driving record.
Your driving record is essentially a record of your driving history (including any tickets, accidents, suspensions, points, etc.). It’s a great idea to check your driving record periodically, as your record can affect your car insurance rates and sometimes even your employment.
To learn more, visit our Driving Records in KY page.
KY Suspension Hearings and Appeals
The KYTC will offer hearings to contest a suspended driver’s license in Kentucky for most suspensions that do not involve a court conviction.
Most suspension hearings are for:
- Point suspensions.
- Alcohol-related suspensions not resulting in a court conviction.
- The KYTC can suspend your drivers license if your blood alcohol concentration is over the legal limit OR if you refuse to test (regardless of whether you are convicted of a DUI in court).
You have 20 days after the mailing date of your suspension notification to request a hearing. If you do not request a hearing within that time frame, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended.
Requested hearings will be scheduled as early as possible within 20 days of receipt of your request.
NOTE: You may appeal a decision made in an informal court hearing. Appeals are conducted through administrative hearings.
Reinstate Your KY Driver’s License
Depending on the reason your license was suspended, you will receive a set of requirements to resolve the issue and comply with Kentucky laws.
NOTE: If your license has been suspended due to an alcohol-related offense, you will be required to attend a state-approved alcohol education or treatment program.
Once you are able to reinstate your KY driver’s license under the terms and conditions of your suspension or revocation, you will need to pay your fee. (See “Fees for Suspended KY Licenses” below.)
NOTE: Kentucky does recognize driver’s license suspensions in other states. This means that to regain your driving privileges in KY, you must fulfill any requirements and pay any fees to the state in which your suspension originated.
Fees for Suspended KY Licenses
To reinstate your license, you’ll pay a $40 fee. You have two options for payment:
- Check made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.
- Bring or send your check to your local Circuit Court Clerk's office or driver licensing field office.
- Online at the Kentucky Driver License Reinstatement website.*
- Accepted cards include:
- American Express.
- You will need your:
- Full name (as shown on your KY driver’s license).
- Driver license number.
- Birth date.
- Accepted cards include:
Reinstatement fee payments are in addition to any other administrative or court fines you face for your suspension.
* You may only pay your reinstate fee online for Class D, E, and M licenses. You cannot pay your fee if reinstating a suspended CDL.
Restricted Licenses in Kentucky
If your Kentucky driver’s license has been suspended due to a DUI conviction, you may be able to obtain an order from the court allowing the KYTC to issue you a temporary hardship license which will permit you to drive to specific locations during specific times.
You may apply to the court for a hardship license for the purposes of:
- Medical care.
- Attending an alcohol awareness course.
- Attending a driver improvement course.
- Court-ordered counseling or other programs.
To apply for this restricted license, complete and submit the Application for Hardship Driver’s License to the court. Once the court has granted an order for a hardship license, you must submit it to the KYTC.
NOTE: The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet has the right to refuse to issue you a hardship license.
CDL Suspensions in KY
Your CDL can be suspended for many violations, including:
- Serious traffic violations.
- DUI offenses.
- Hit-and-run convictions.
- Felony involving a commercial motor vehicle.
- Use of a commercial motor vehicle to transport illegal substances.
- Railroad crossing violations.
- Violations of Out of Service Orders.
Read our page on Commercial Drivers in KY to learn more.