Traffic Tickets in Kansas
SUMMARY: Traffic Tickets in Kansas
How you'll pay a traffic ticket in Kansas will depend on your violation and county court where you received your ticket. You may be able to pay your fine online, by mail, by phone, or in person. If you wish to fight your ticket, you may need to appear in court.
Continue reading this page to learn more about what do you when you receive a traffic ticket in Kansas.
Traffic Ticket Penalties and Fines
Kansas traffic ticket fines vary by violation. Court costs and surcharges may vary depending on the county you received your ticket in.
To find out exactly how much your KS traffic ticket will cost you, refer to your ticket or contact the district or municipal court handling your case.
Driving Record Points
The Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR) may restrict or suspend your KS driver’s license when you accumulate 3 moving violations on your driving record within 12 months.
In some cases, your KS traffic court may allow you to complete a defensive driving course to dismiss your traffic ticket and prevent it from showing on your driving record.
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
When you receive a traffic ticket, your auto insurance rates could increase dramatically. Having your traffic ticket dismissed by completing traffic school could prevent this from happening.
Ask the Kansas district or municipal court handling your case about your eligibility.
In the meantime, you can start comparing auto insurance rates online to find a more affordable policy.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas
Your options for paying a KS traffic ticket will depend on the KS court handling your case. You may able to pay your Kansas traffic ticket fines:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- In person.
Be sure to submit your payment before the deadline date shown on your ticket.
For more information, visit our Paying Traffic Tickets page.
Fight a KS Traffic Ticket
The procedure to fight your Kansas traffic ticket will vary by traffic court. You will likely need to plead “not guilty" in court on the arraignment date shown on your Kansas traffic ticket.
Check your traffic ticket for complete instructions or contact the appropriate KS district or municipal court.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've lost your KS traffic ticket, you'll need to contact the appropriate district or municipal court handling your case.
NOTE: Municipal courts handle city tickets and district courts handle county tickets.
Fines & Penalties for KS Commercial Drivers
If you are convicted of a traffic violation and you have a commercial driver's license (CDL), you must notify your employer within 30 days.
It's worth noting that violations you commit as a commercial driver may come with harsher penalties. For example, for any of the following offenses, you'll lose your CDL for 1 year:
- Having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% while driving a commercial vehicle.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- A fatality that is the result of the negligent use of a commercial vehicle.
- Operating a commercial vehicle when you have been disqualified or had your license revoked, cancelled or suspended.
- A felony crime involving a commercial vehicle (distributing, making or dispensing a controlled substance is included)
For more information, visit our CDL Suspensions in Kansas page.
Kansas Traffic Tickets: FAQs
Still have questions? Visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more information about the following topics:
- Traffic ticket fines in Kansas.
- Ordering your driving record.
- Dismissing a traffic ticket.
- Hiring a traffic ticket attorney.