License Renewal in Kansas
COVID-19 Effects on Licensing Services
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, state DMVs nationwide have closed driver licensing offices, extended license and registration expiration dates, and/or limited the transactions they are processing. If possible, residents should use the Division of Vehicles' online services to complete any relevant transactions. Follow the DOR's most recent updates for the latest information.
Renew Your Kansas Driver's License
If you need to operate a vehicle in Kansas, you must possess a valid KS driver's license. When it is due for renewal, you'll need to submit a renewal application to the Kansas Division of Vehicles.
If you are searching for details about a different type of driver's license or permit, please see any the following links:
On this page, you'll find all the information you need about how to renew your regular, non-commercial KS driver's license before it expires.
REAL ID Requirements in Kansas
The Kansas DOR complies with the REAL ID Act of 2005, meaning it provides first-time driver license applicants with REAL ID-compliant driver licenses. REAL ID driver’s licenses meet the federal identification requirements required for tasks such as entering federal buildings and boarding domestic commercial flights.
New applicants will automatically receive a REAL ID. As a renewal, you can choose to upgrade to a compliant license or retain a non-compliant credential. For more details, visit the DOR's guide to REAL ID licensing.
Is your driver's license valid or suspended in Kansas? Find out by ordering your driving record online today.
When to Renew Your KS Driver's License
The length of time your Kansas driver's license is valid will depend on your age:
- Less than 21 years old: Expires on your 21st birthday.
- To get more information about renewing when you're less than 21 years old, visit the Kansas DMV website.
- Between 21 to under 65 years old: 6 years.
- 65 years old or older: 4 years.
You can renew your KS driver's license up to 1 year before it expires, unless you are younger than 21 years old. If you are younger than 21 years old, you must wait until your 21st birthday to complete the renewal.
NOTE: If you recently moved, you should notify the Kansas DMV to ensure you receive your renewal notice. For more information on how to handle this process, please see our Changing Your Address page.
Lost, Stolen, or Damaged Driver's License
If your Kansas driver's license is expiring soon but it was recently lost, stolen, or damaged, you may be able to renew it instead of applying for a replacement driver's license. Please contact your local KS DMV office to verify.
Replacing a lost driver's license is a more complicated process, so a renewal may be your best option, if available.
For more information on how to replace a lost, stolen, or damaged driver's license in Kansas, please read our page about Replacing a Lost License.
Expired Driver's License
If you fail to renew your driver's license on or before the expiration date, you'll be charged a $1 fee and you may be required to take your examinations again. In addition, you may receive a traffic ticket if a law enforcement officer catches you driving on an expired license.
You can check the status of your driver's license by ordering a copy of your Kansas driving record.
Did you know a single organ donor could save up to 8 lives? Become an organ donor today!
Renew Your Kansas Driver's License
The Kansas DMV will mail you your renewal notice at least 30 days before your KS driver's license expires. If you don't receive a renewal form, however, it's still your responsibility to make sure your license is renewed in a timely fashion.
You can renew your KS driver's license online (if eligible), by mail (if eligible), or in person at your local KS DMV office. To save time, you can make an appointment before you go. If you're upgrading to a REAL ID, you MUST renew in person the first time you get your new credential.
If you haven't yet received your license, you can check your renewal status with the Kansas DMV.
You may renew your driver's license online if you meet the requirements of the online system. If you do not qualify to renew online it is recommended that you schedule and appointment with your local Division of Vehicles office.
You can only renew your Kansas driver's license by mail if you are temporarily living out of state. This applies to active-duty military members currently stationed outside of Kansas.
You also have the option of applying for an extension of your driver's license and renewing upon your return to Kansas.
For more information and how to renew by mail, see “ Out-of-State & Military Residents" below.
To renew your KS driver's license in person, you'll need to visit your local full-service DMV driver's license office and bring:
- Proof of your identity, such as your expiring KS driver's license.
- Proof of your Social Security number (SSN).
- Proof of your Kansas residency.
If you would like to upgrade to a REAL ID, you will also need to bring a birth certificate or a valid passport, as well as additional proof of Kansas residency. Check out the DOR's list of required REAL ID documents for info.
NOTE: If you've changed your name since you received your last driver's license, you'll need to show proof of the change to the KS DMV. Visit our Changing Your Name page for more details.
For a complete list of accepted documents proving your identity can be found on the Kansas DMV website.
While at the KS Division of Vehicles office, you will need to:
- Complete an eye exam.
- You can also bring proof of an exam from a licensed optometrist or ophthalmologist performed within the previous 90 days.
- Pass a driving exam, if your driver's license is expired or suspended.
- Have your photograph taken.
- Give your signature.
- Pay all necessary driver license renewal fees (same as fees for original licenses).
- See “Fees to Renew Your Driver's License in KS" below.
Out-of-State & Military Residents
Notice for Military Members Stationed in Germany
If you are currently stationed in Germany, please be aware that some states require you to have a valid U.S. driver's license in addition to your USAREUR license. Read our article for more information.
If you are temporarily outside of Kansas or the country, you can renew your driver's license by mail OR obtain an extension of 6 months. You'll need:
- A completed Kansas Driver's License Extension or Replacement (Form DEMI-1).
- Payment for the renewal fees and photo fee.
- See “Fees to Renew Your KS Driver's License" below.
Mail the above to:
P.O. Box 2188
Topeka, KS 66601
Your new KS driver's license will be mailed to the out-of-state address you provide.
NOTE: Military members stationed out of state can find more information on our Drivers in the Military page.
Fees to Renew Your Driver's License in KS
The cost for renewing your driver's license in Kansas will depend on the driver's license type. For complete fee details, please read the KS DOR Driver Licensing Fee Chart.
You may also need to pay an additional $8 photo fee and $1.50 exam fee (if applicable).
Acceptable Payment Methods
For transactions completed in person, the KS Division of Vehicles accepts payment by:
- Money order.
- Major credit cards.
For transactions made by mail, you can submit payment by:
- Money order.
- Major credit card.
Be sure to contact your local Kansas DMV office for specific details on how to pay your fees.