Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Kansas
Not quite a motorcycle, but definitely not a regular bicycle? Keep reading to find out whether you have a scooter, moped, or motorized bike and what the Kansas Division of Vehicles (DOV) requires in terms of licensing and registration.
Motor-Driven Cycles in Kansas
In Kansas, motor-driven cycles are motorcycles and motor scooters with motors that do NOT exceed 5 brake HP.
KS Mopeds & Motorized Bicycles
A moped, also called a motorized bicycle, is a motor vehicle that has:
- 2 or 3 wheels.
- The ability to be propelled by human propulsion, a helper motor, or both.
- A motor that doesn’t exceed 3.5 brake HP.
- An engine displacement of 130 CC or less.
- An automatic transmission.
- The ability to operate no faster than 30 MPH.
If you’re unsure about the type of vehicle you have, your best bet is to head to your county treasurer’s office where a Division of Vehicles agent will help identify whether you have a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, or moped.
Kansas Moped Licenses
Generally, if you already have a valid driver’s license, you can operate a moped (also called motorized bicycle) in Kansas.
If you don’t currently have a driver’s license but are at least 15 years old, you can apply for a moped license by heading to the nearest driver licensing office and:
- Passing a vision and written knowledge test.
- You’ll need to pass the written test for a standard KS driver’s permit.
Once everything’s approved, you’ll receive a Class C license indicating that you’re ONLY eligible to operate mopeds. If you’re younger than 18 years old you MUST wear a helmet while riding your moped.
NOTE THAT the DOV will NOT issue you a moped license if you have a driver’s license that is:
- Currently suspended for a DUI conviction or failed sobriety test while operating a commercial vehicle.
- Revoked because any of the following occurred in the previous 5 years:
- You failed or refused a drug test.
- You were convicted of DUI (alcohol or drug related).
- You were convicted of evading law enforcement.