Drivers Permits in Kansas
COVID-19 Effects on Licensing Services
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, state DMVs nationwide have closed office locations, extended license and registration expiration dates, and/or limited the transactions they are processing. If possible, residents should use the Division of Vehicles' online services to complete any relevant transactions. Follow the DOR's most recent updates for the latest information.
Kansas Driver's Permits
The Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR) requires all new drivers to satisfy the requirements of its graduated driver licensing (GDL) program. The first step is getting your learner's permit.
If you would like to bypass some of the testing requirements, you should also consider taking a driver’s education course. Completing a driver's education course may not only waive some of your DMV tests, but it can also help to prepare you to be a safer, more responsible driver when you get your unrestricted driver's license.
REAL ID Requirements in Kansas
The Kansas DOR complies with the REAL ID Act of 2005, meaning it provides first-time driver license applicants with REAL ID-compliant driver licenses. REAL ID driver’s licenses meet the federal identification requirements required for tasks such as entering federal buildings and boarding domestic commercial flights.
Continue reading to learn more about obtaining your KS learner's permit.
New to Kansas?
The Kansas DOR will NOT transfer an out-of-state instruction permit, even if you have held it for more than 6 months. You will need to apply for a KS learner's permit in order to get your driver's license in Kansas.
Continue reading below for details about the learner's permit application process.
Applying for a Kansas Learner's Permit
You must be at least 14 years old to apply for a learner's permit in Kansas. To apply, you'll need to visit your local Kansas DOR office and:
- 14 and 15 year olds must have approval from your parent or guardian.
- Show proof of your identity.
- Show proof of your KS residency.
- To set yourself up for a REAL ID-compliant license, check out the approved documents you can bring.
- Pass a vision test.
- Pass the written permit test.
- Pay the required fees:
- $31 permit fee.
- $8 photo fee.
- $3 testing fee.
Your Kansas learner's permit must be held for 1 year.
Taking the Written Permit Test
The written Kansas permit test is a required part of the application process for a learner's permit. The test will contain a series of multiple-choice questions related to traffic laws and road signs in Kansas.
If you submit a driver's education completion certificate (Form DE-99) when you apply, the KS driver's license bureau will waive the written test.
Kansas Learner's Permit Restrictions
When operating a vehicle in Kansas while holding your learner's permit, you must:
- Be supervised by a driver who is at least 21 years old.
- NOT have anyone in the front passenger seat other than your driving supervisor.
- NOT use a mobile phone, except to report illegal activity or an emergency.
Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements
Once you have your KS learner's permit, you're ready for supervised behind-the-wheel training.
If you're 15 years old, you must have completed 25 hours of driving practice before moving on to a restricted driver's license.
Once you fulfill the behind-the-wheel requirement and have held your learner's permit for 1 year, you're eligible to apply for your intermediate restricted driver's license.
Next Step: Your KS Restricted Driver's License
You must meet the following requirements to be eligible for a restricted Kansas driver's license:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Held your learner's permit for at least 1 year.
- Have parental approval.
- Have completed at least 25 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice.
For steps and details, please visit our page on Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Kansas.