Salesperson License in Kansas
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
The Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR) requires all motor vehicle salespersons to complete a registration process. This demonstrates their knowledge of the regulations regarding the sale of vehicles in the state.
If you would like to become a vehicle salesperson in Kansas, you'll need to get hired by a dealer. Then you and the dealer will complete the Original Application for Vehicle Salesperson, Factory Representative, or Distributor Representative available through the Dealer Portal on the Kansas DOR website. On the form, you'll be asked to provide information about your employer and any previous work you have done selling motor vehicles in other states.
Used or New?
You'll need to specify on your application whether you wish to sell only used vehicles, or both new and used vehicles.
Your application must also be accompanied by a completed Application for Salesperson. This short test measures your knowledge of key industry concepts and the laws protecting Kansas drivers during a vehicle purchase. It uses multiple choice and true or false questions. Your employer should be able to provide you with information to help you pass the test.
There's a $25 fee for a vehicle salesperson license.
If you opt to change employers once you've received your vehicle salesperson license, file a License Transfer Application Vehicle Salesperson, Factory or Distributor Representative (Form D-43a) This form requires both your former and current employers to complete sections verifying your work history, so the information on file with the Kansas DOT can be updated.
If you have questions about how to obtain a vehicle salesperson license, please contact the Kansas Department of Revenue's
Division of Vehicles at (785) 296-3621.