Apply for a License (Drivers 18+) in Kansas
COVID-19 Effects on Licensing Services
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, state DMVs nationwide have closed driver licensing offices, extended license and registration expiration dates, and/or limited the transactions they are processing. If possible, residents should use the Division of Vehicles' online services to complete any relevant transactions. Follow the DOR's most recent updates for the latest information.
Continue reading this page to learn how to obtain your first driver's license from the Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR).
NOTE: If you are younger than 17 years old, you will need to complete the graduated driver licensing (GDL) program. More information can be found on our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Kansas page.
REAL ID Requirements in Kansas
The Kansas DOR complies with the REAL ID Act of 2005, meaning it provides first-time driver license applicants with REAL ID-compliant driver licenses. REAL ID driver’s licenses meet the federal identification requirements required for tasks such as entering federal buildings and boarding domestic commercial flights.
New to Kansas?
Find all the information you need to finish your moving requirements with the DMV.
If you've just moved to Kansas, you can apply for a driver's license by following the instructions listed below. Depending on if you have an out-of-state driver's license or not, you may have some of your tests waived.
- Valid driver's license: Your driving and written tests will be waived.
- Driver's license expired for up to 1 year: Your driving test will be waived.
NOTE: By law, you are required to transfer your out-of-state driver's license within 90 days of becoming a Kansas resident.
If your out-of-state driver's license has been expired for longer than 1 year, you will need to pass all tests (vision, written, and driving).
NOTE: Your out-of-state driver's license must not be suspended, revoked, or cancelled in any state.
Types of KS Driver's Licenses
In Kansas, there are different types of driver's licenses you can apply for depending on what you need it for.
- Non-commercial (Class A, B, or C): Class type depends on weight of motor vehicle. Class C is the driver's license required for a standard car.
- Commercial driver's license (CDL) (Class A, B, or C): Class type depends on weight of vehicle.
- Motorcycle license (Class M).
- Driver's permit: Allows you to practice driving under certain restrictions.
Eligibility Requirements for a License
You may apply for an unrestricted Kansas driver's license if:
- You are 17 years old or older.
- You have completed a Driver's Ed course (if you're younger than 18 years old).
- You have parental consent (if you're younger than 18 years old).
- Your driving privileges are not currently cancelled, denied, suspended, or revoked in any state.
- You haven't been deemed mentally incompetent by a court.
- You do not have an alcohol or substance abuse problem.
- You are clear of unpaid fines (for moving traffic violations).
Apply for a KS Driver's License
You must apply for a KS driver's license in person at a DOR office. You will need:
- Acceptable documents as proof of your:
- Name and date of birth (e.g. birth certificate, permanent resident card, U.S. citizenship certificate).
- Lawful status in the U.S. (e.g. U.S. passport, foreign passport with visa and I-551 stamp, valid employment authorized card).
- Kansas residency (e.g. recent utility bill, bank statement, insurance card).
- Social Security number (SSN) (e.g. Social Security card, W-2 form).
- If you don't have a SSN, you will need a letter of ineligibility from the Social Security Administration (SSA).
- Name change (if applicable) (e.g. marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order).
- To pass the required tests:
- Pay the required fee.
Fees for a Kansas Driver's License
The cost of your KS driver's license will depend on your age and the length of validity.
- Under 21 years old (valid until your 21st birthday): $51.
- License fees vary by type and age:
- Instruction permit (driver's license and motorcycle) valid for 1 year: $10.
- 65 years old and over valid for 4 years: $23.
- 21 to under 65 years old valid for 6 years: $29.
Contact the Kansas DOR for more fee information, including accepted payment methods.
DMV Driver's License Tests
Before you will be issued a driver's license in Kansas, the Department of Revenue (DOR) requires you pass a vision exam, written test, and driving test.
You have the following options to fulfill your vision requirement:
- Pass the vision exam at the KS DOR office.
- Provide a driver licensing eye examination form completed by your ophthalmologist or optometrist. (Must have been issued within the last 90 days.)
If you need corrective lenses, this requirement will show on your driver's license.
Written Knowledge Test
You will be tested on your knowledge of local Kansas road signs and traffic laws. The DMV suggests studying the Kansas Driving Handbook.If you want to ensure passing on the first attempt, try one of these comprehensive online practice tests from our certified partner.
If you fail the written test, you will need to wait until the next business day to try again. You will need to pay a $1.50 re-testing fee. If you fail 4 times, you will need to wait 6 months before you can take the test again.
During your driving test, you will need to demonstrate your ability to safely handle your motor vehicle on public roads.
You will need to provide your own vehicle and be prepared to show proof of your auto insurance.
If you fail the driving exam, like the written test, you must wait until the next business day to re-take it. You will also need to pay the re-testing fee of $1.50. If you fail 4 times, it will be another 6 months before you will be eligible for another attempt.