Accident Guide in Kansas
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
After the Accident
No one likes to think about being in an accident. Unfortunately, it's a situation that you'll likely face. So be aware of what Kansas law requires you to do.
Following the accident, your first duty is to immediately stop your vehicle. If possible, park it off the road.
If someone is injured, you must call for medical help or take the injured to get help. Give as much aid as you can to the injured, including keeping them warm. Don't move those who appear to be seriously injured, unless it's to prevent further possible damage.
Accidents in which an injury, death, or property damage of $500 or more occur mean you must contact law enforcement right away.
Give your name and address, as well as the registration number of the vehicle you're driving, to others involved in the accident. If requested, you must also share your driver's license number, name of insurance provider, and insurance policy number.
You may be cited by law enforcement if you can't produce your proof of insurance at the scene. Also, you may be asked by the Division of Vehicles to file an accident report.
Accidents with Unoccupied Vehicles
You're backing out of a parking space. You swear you have enough room to safely maneuver your vehicle and be on your way. But, that annoying astigmatism of yours gets in the way, and you end up putting a dent into the front fender of some poor soul's vehicle.
What should you do?
For this and all other accidents involving unattended property, you must try to locate the property owner. If you're successful, give the owner your name and address, plus the registration number of the vehicle you were driving. (Assuming you're not the vehicle owner, of course.)
If you fail to find the owner after a reasonable effort, leave a note in a conspicuous, secure location that contains your name and address, as well as the vehicle registration number. Be sure to write legibly. Also, report the mishap to law enforcement that has jurisdiction over the property, in case your note blows away.
The state is serious about your conduct following an accident. Failing to stay at the scene of the accident or to comply with your duties could result in a misdemeanor or felony charge, along with jail time, fines, or a license suspension.