DMV Point System in Indiana
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Driving is a great form of freedom—but just like every freedom, it comes with a lot of responsibility.
If you disobey Indiana traffic laws, you'll not only receive a moving violation, but points will also be added to your IN driver record. Earn too many and you could face the consequences.
Read below for information about how the DMV point system works in Indiana.
Indiana Point System Basics
While most of the time, having more of something is a good thing, the opposite is true when it comes to points on your driving record.
The more points that appear, the more moving violations you'll have committed.
Points remain on your driver record for 2 years after you are either convicted of or plead guilty to a moving violation.
If you rack up too many moving violations in Indiana, you'll be proclaimed a habitual traffic violator by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles and be penalized accordingly.
Specifically, your license will be suspended if you are convicted of any of the following over the course of 10 years:
- 2 major offenses resulting in death or injury:
- Non-DUI: Suspension for 10 years.
- DUI-related: Suspension for life.
- 10 traffic violations or more, including 1 major violation: Suspension for 5 years.
- 3 major violations: Suspension for 10 years.
The IN BMV provides further details about what constitutes a “major" traffic violation and how habitual traffic violators are treated in the state.
Keep reading to see how many points you may be facing for committing some common violations.
NOTE: Commercial vehicle drivers may face additional penalties for points on their IN license. See our guide on Suspended CDLs for more.
Worried about your auto insurance? An accumulation of points could have a toxic effect on your rate.
Find out more about on our guide to points and auto insurance—and how you can help keep yours as low as possible.
IN Point System Schedule
In Indiana, the number of points a citation carries depends on the severity of the moving violation.
You could get up to to 8 points per traffic violation on your driving record. Your traffic ticket should state the exact number of points each violation is worth.
Below is a list of some of the most common moving violations and their point totals. The IN BMV offers additional information, including what happens when you're considered a “habitual offender".
Among other common violations, you'll get 2 points on your driving record if you:
- Drive 1 to 15 MPH over the speed limit.
- Drive without headlights.
- Don't have working brake lights.
Moving violations worth 4 points are slightly less common, and include:
- Driving 16 to 25 MPH over the speed limit.
- Making an illegal U-turn.
- Having improper motorcycle headgear.
Examples of traffic tickets carrying 6 points include:
- Driving 26 MPH or faster over the speed limit.
- Disobeying a stop sign.
- Failing to yield.
- Following another car too closely.
Moving violations worth 8 points are the most severe, and include:
- Not yielding for an emergency vehicle.
- Road racing.
- Driving with a suspended license.
Make sure you're not blindsided! Errors on your Indiana driver record can cause massive repercussions for you down the road.
Always know exactly what your record states by ordering a copy at regular intervals—especially if you've recently received a ticket.
Mandatory Driving School
Regardless of the point total on your driving record, you must enroll in a Driver Safety Program (DSP) if you:
- Are convicted of 2 traffic offenses within 12 months.
- Are under 18 years old and have either:
- Committed at least 2 traffic offenses in 12 months.
- Been in at least 2 accidents within 12 months.
- Committed a combination of the above.
If you are required to take a DSP course, the IN Bureau of Motor Vehicles will notify you by mail. Once you are notified you will have to complete your DSP course within 90 days or your license will be suspended.
The DPS course could help you erase some points from your record. Read below for more information on the Indiana Driver Safety Program.
Reducing Your Violation Points
Typically, points will vanish from your Indiana driving record 2 years after you either are convicted of the violation or plead guilty.
However, the state offers a way for you to speed up the process.
You could have credit of 4 points applied to your record if you successfully complete a BMV-approved Driver Safety Program.
A BMV approved course costs $55, once completed, It can take up to 10 days for the course credit to be processed. You can only have points removed with a DSP course once every 3 years.
More details can be found on the IN Bureau of Motor Vehicles' Driver Safety Program page.