Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Indiana
In Indiana, motor-driven cycles (MDCs) are often referred to as scooters, mopeds, motorized bicycles, and other similar terms. However, there are different classes of motor-driven cycles that each require their own type of license and registration—let’s see which type of MDC you have and what you’ll need to legally operate it.
Indiana Motor-Driven Cycles
Indiana classifies motor-driven cycles as follows:
- Class A:
- Has an engine that produces 5 brake horsepower at most.
- Designed to have 3 wheels or fewer on the ground.
- Equipped with a seat or saddle for the rider.
- Class B:
- Has an engine displacement of no more than 50 cc.
- Designed to have 3 wheels at most on the ground.
- Has a seat or saddle for the operator.
Both classes have license/endorsement, registration, and operating requirements.
Motor-Driven Cycle Registration
You must register your motor-driven cycle with the Indiana BMV by providing the following at your local IN BMV office:
- Any of the following proofs of ownership:
- Manufacturer’s certificate of origin.
- Bill of sale.
- Motor Driven Cycle (MDC) Affidavit of Ownership and/or Cubic Centimeters (CC) (Form 55714).
- Proof of liability insurance that meets Indiana’s minimum coverage requirements — for Class A motor-driven cycles only.
- Payment for the applicable fees:
- Registration fee: $26.36.
- Vehicle excise tax: $10.
- County and municipal excises taxes: Vary—call your local BMV office for details.
Class A Licensing & Safety
Before you can ride your Class A motor-driven cycle, you’ll need to make sure you meet the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles’ (BMV) licensing and safety law requirements.
Class A MDC Licensing
To drive a Class A motor-driven cycle in Indiana, you must have a valid IN driver’s license WITH any of the following:
- Standard motorcycle endorsement.
- Motorcycle endorsement with a MDC Class A restriction.
- To get a Class A restriction, you need to pass the general motorcycle knowledge test AND a skills test specific to Class A MDCs.
- Motorcycle learner’s permit.
With the right credentials in hand, it’s time to register your Class A MDC with the BMV.
Class A MDC Safety Laws
When operating a Class A MDC in Indiana, you must:
- Wear a:
- Helmet and eye protection if you’re younger than 18 years old.
- Helmet if you’re operating with a motorcycle learner permit.
- Sit astride (i.e. straddle) the seat.
- Have your headlamps on while riding.
- Only carry passengers if your MDC has a proper passenger seat.
- Not carry packages in your hands.
- Drive near the right side of the road unless you’re passing another vehicle or preparing to make a left turn
Class B Licensing & Safety
Like Class A motor-driven cycles, the Indiana BMV also has specific requirements around the credentials, registration, and safety laws for Class B MDCs. Let’s go over them.
Class B MDC Licensing
To ride a Class B motor-driven cycle, you must be 15 years old or older and have one of the following:
- Driver’s license.
- Driver’s permit.
- Indiana state identification card with a MDC Class B endorsement.
- You ONLY need to pass the MDC Class B written test to add this endorsement to your ID card. Endorsements are free unless the IN BMV needs to make an amendment.
Class B MDC Safety Requirements
When operating a Class B MDC in Indiana, you must:
- Wear a helmet and eye protection if you’re younger than 18 years old.
- Straddle or sit astride the seat.
- Have the headlamps on while riding.
- NOT carry passengers.
- Not carry packages in your hands.
- Operate no faster than 35 mph.
- Ride near the right side of the roadway unless you’re passing another vehicle or getting ready to make a left turn.
- Not drive on sidewalks or interstate highways.