Join 1,972,984 Americans who searched DMV.org for insurance rates
Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Indiana
A vehicle insurance policy shows that you have financial responsibility to pay for certain damages or injuries if you cause an accident. The state of Indiana requires all drivers to have a minimum amount of both underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage, which can pay for your injuries if the other driver isn't adequately insured.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
The easiest way for most residents to prove financial responsibility on your bike is to purchase liability insurance through a state-licensed motorcycle insurance company.
If you've had numerous accidents or a previous policy canceled for any reason, you might have a hard time finding an agency to insure you. The state, however, has created the Indiana Auto Insurance Plan for those who have been turned down for traditional policies. Speak to an agent at a state-licensed insurance company for more information or to apply for the program.
Liability coverage isn't the only way to show financial responsibility. You do have options, which are the following:
- A policy of liability coverage from a state-licensed motorcycle insurance provider.
- A deposit with the state treasurer.
- A trust fund.
- A bond issued by a surety company. Contact the BMV at (888) 692-6841 for required amounts and additional details.
When deciding how to insure your motorcycle, it's helpful to know what the state of Indiana considers a motorcycle, and what it considers other vehicles.
If you need further information about how to classify your vehicle, contact the BMV at (888) 692-6841.
Indiana Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
The minimum requirements for liability motorcycle insurance in Indiana are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage for one person in a single accident.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage total in a single accident for more than 1 person.
- $10,000 property damage coverage.
As you shop and get a motorcycle insurance quote, you might also want to look into higher coverage amounts or different types of coverage to make sure you're fully protected from financial risk, depending on your bike's condition and your financial situation. Be sure to check out the various types of insurance coverage available to you before making a final commitment.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Indiana doesn't currently have a law concerning helmet requirements that vary according to insurance coverage. In this state, the law is simple: every rider under the age of 18 must wear a helmet and eye protection. After you turn 18, it's up to your own discretion.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
You'll need proper proof of insurance to register and title your motorcycle. Usually this just means bringing in the insurance card from your agent when you turn in your registration or titling paperwork.
The Electronic Insurance Forms Submission (EIFS) program, recently created by the BMV, allows licensed insurance agents to electronically submit insurance information for their customers. Ask your insurance agent if he or she has signed up for the EIFS program; it can save time and reduce errors in the long run.
The EIFS program is not available unless you're a licensed agent, but that doesn't mean you're powerless. You can update your insurance information on record with the BMV at any time by going to the myBMV website. You'll need to create an account the first time you visit, and then sign in each time after that.
Whether you bring in your insurance card or your agent submits the information electronically, you'll need to prove to the BMV that you have the minimum coverage or you won't be able to register or title your bike.
Always keep a copy of your insurance information in your vehicle. You should be able to show proof of insurance at any time, if requested to by law enforcement or other officials.
If you are ever involved in an accident or you get pulled over by a police officer and you fail to show proof of motorcycle insurance, the BMV will send you a Certificate of Compliance.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC