Apply for a License (Drivers 18+) in Idaho
SUMMARY: How to Apply for an Idaho Driver's License
Applying for an ID driver's license must be done in person at a DMV office. You will need to pass a vision, written, and driving test, and pay the required fees. You will also need to provide various documents to prove your identity, date of birth, ID residency, and lawful U.S. presence.
Continue reading to learn how to apply for your Idaho driver's license from the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
NOTE: If you are younger than 18 years old, you will need to fulfill additional requirements which can be found on our Applying for a Teen License page.
REAL IDs in Idaho
The Idaho DMV now issues both federally-compliant REAL ID driver’s licenses—called Star Cards—as well as non-compliant licenses. A REAL ID license allows you to use your license as approved identification for activities such as boarding an airplane or entry into federal and military buildings.
Most licenses issued will be verified REAL IDs, but if you don't qualify, you'll receive a non-compliant license—details are outlined below.
New to Idaho?
Find all the information you need to finish your moving requirements with the DMV.
If you've moved to Idaho from another state, you have 90 days from when you become an ID resident to have your out-of-state driver's license converted.
Follow the instructions below to learn how to obtain an Idaho driver's license.
NOTE: You may need to surrender your out-of-state driver's license.
If you have a valid driver's license from Germany or Korea, your driving test will be waived as long as you surrender your card.
Types of ID Driver's Licenses
The Idaho DMV offers various types of driver's licenses depending on your age and vehicle you wish to drive:
How to Apply for an Idaho Driver's License
To apply for an Idaho driver's license, visit your local DMV office with:
- Proof of your:
- Social Security number.
- Idaho residence (2 documents).
- Age and identity.
- Lawful presence in the U.S.
- Name change (if applicable).
- Payment for the required fees.
The Idaho DMV offers a complete guide to REAL ID-compliant documents. If you're unable to provide the proofs specified, you'll receive a non-compliant license instead. You can also choose to apply for a non-compliant license—just remember, you'll need alternative identification in order to board an airplane and enter federal or military buildings.
You will also need to:
- Pass the vision screening.
- Pass the written knowledge test.
- Pass the road skills test.
- Have your photo taken.
Fees for a Driver's License in Idaho
The fee and length of validity of your ID driver's license will depend on your age:
- 18 to 21 years old: $30 (valid for 3 years).
- 20 years old: $15 (valid for 1 year).
- 21 years old and older: $35 (valid for 4 years).
- 21 to 62 years old: $60 (valid for 8 years).
You will also need to pay the following fees to take your DMV tests:
- Written knowledge: $5.
- Driving test: $28.50 paid to tester, $6.50 paid to county.
DMV Driver's License Tests
You will need to pass both a written knowledge and driving test before the ID DMV will issue you a driver's license.
Written Knowledge Test
Your written knowledge exam will consist of 40 questions about traffic laws, safe driving practices, and other related information found in the ID Driver Manual. To pass the test, you will only be allowed to get 6 questions wrong.
If you fail the exam, you will need to wait 3 days to take it again. You will need to pay the $5 fee again.
To help you study for the written exam the DMV offers a basic online practice test. If you want to ensure passing on your first attempt we suggest trying a comprehensive online practice test from our certified partner.
You will need to make an appointment for your driving test. When you apply for your driver's license, ask the Idaho DMV for a list of certified testers near you.
You will need to bring the following with you to your exam:
- A working registered vehicle.
- Proof of auto insurance.
During your road test you will be required to demonstrate your ability to safely drive your vehicle and obey traffic laws. You will also be tested on your knowledge of the vehicle's equipment.
Some maneuvers you may be asked to perform include:
- Changing lanes.
- Driving on a freeway.
- Starting and stopping.
You will fail your driving test if you:
- Make too many errors.
- Are involved in a collision (or near collision).
- Drive dangerously.
- Violate any traffic laws.
If you fail, you must wait 3 days before re-taking the test. You will need to pay the $28.50 fee and the $6.50 fee, every time you re-test.