Suspended License in Iowa
Searching the Iowa MVD for matching Driving Records
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!
Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes:
- Driving Status
- License Classification
NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact MVD
Get your personal driver's license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Suspended Driver's Licenses in Iowa
Iowa residents might have their licenses suspended, revoked, or canceled if they abuse their driving privileges.
The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) monitors your Iowa driving record and decides when to restrict your driving privileges. Generally, your license is suspended for offenses such as OWIs, failure to pay tickets, driving recklessly, etc.
Read more to learn about suspended licenses in Iowa, contesting a suspension, applying for a restricted license, and reinstating your suspended license.
Aside from accumulating too many points on your license, the following are some of the most common reasons you can have your license suspended or even revoked:
- Failure to pass a required exam or a diagnosis of a medical or physical condition that impairs your ability to drive.
- The Office of Driver Services may limit your driving privileges.
- Habitual recklessness or negligence.
- Failure to pay child support.
- Failure to pay traffic tickets.
- Failure to pay debts owed to the state.
- You will not be given an opportunity to appeal the decision.
- Operating while intoxicated (OWI).
Your license is subject to an administrative revocation by the DOT, regardless of a court conviction, if you violate the law by:
- Refusing to test for blood alcohol concentration (BAC).
- Testing over the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration.
Driving with a Suspended IA License
If you are caught driving while your license is suspended, you will be charged with a misdemeanor.
If convicted, you can receive a $1,500 fine and up to 1 year in jail.
Your current suspension or revocation can even be doubled if you are convicted of committing them while your license is suspended.
Check Your License Status
Are you concerned that your license is suspended, or wondering what violations are on your record? You can find all this out by checking out your Iowa driving record.
This record will show you any traffic tickets, accidents, suspensions, etc. on your record. Since this can affect your auto insurance rates, it's a good idea to review and make sure you know what's there.
You may be eligible to contest your driver's license suspension during an administrative hearing with the Iowa DOT.
The DOT will send you a notice when your driver's license is suspended. The notice of suspension will let you know if you're eligible for a hearing and, if you are, your deadline for requesting one.
If you lose your license due to an implied consent violation, the law enforcement officer will give you a form that includes information about the appeal process.
To request a hearing, complete a Request to Appeal Loss of Driving/Registration Privileges (Form 432034) and submit via one of the following methods:
- By mail:
Office of Driver Services
Iowa Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, IA 50306-9204
- By fax: (515) 237-3071.
- In person at a DOT driver's license office.
If you have had your driver's license revoked or suspended, you might be eligible to receive a temporary Iowa restricted license, also called a “work permit." Note that you are not eligible for a work permit to operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV).
Temporary restricted licenses are issued for transportation for the following reasons:
- Health care.
- Court-ordered community service.
- Substance abuse programs.
- Probation or parole appointments.
To apply for a temporary license in Iowa, complete an Application for Temporary Restricted License (Form 430100).
If your application is accepted, you will be notified by the Department of Transportation. When you receive your notice of approval you must take it to a DOT driver’s license office where you may be required to take further steps that include:
- Providing proof of insurance.
- Paying a $20 fee.
- Taking any required tests.
- Paying any civil penalties.
NOTE: If your license has been revoked due to an OWI offense, you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device that will test your blood alcohol concentration before allowing you to start your car.
For more information regarding temporary restricted licenses, call the IA Office of Driver Services at:
- (515) 244-8725.
- (515) 244-8725.
Each type of license suspension or revocation comes with its own set of requirements you must fulfill in order to reinstate your Iowa driver's license.
The Iowa Department of Transportation allows you to check your reinstatement requirements online.
Reinstatement requirements often include:
- Paying a reinstatement fee, as well fines associated with your offense (see below).
- Providing proof of car insurance.
- Applying for and retesting for a new IA driver’s license.
You may also request your reinstatement requirements at any Iowa DOT office.
Your reinstatement fee will be specific to your suspension or revocation. You can check your reinstatement requirements online with the DOT's Online Driver’s License and Record Services or at your local DOT office.
However, note that convictions or offenses involving financial responsibility come with a $200 civil penalty that must be paid before you can reinstate your license. (The fee is reduced to $50 for drivers 19 years old and younger.)
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.