Traffic Tickets in Hawaii
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act.
Continue reading this page to learn more about how to respond to a traffic ticket in Hawaii.
HI Traffic Ticket Fines & Penalties
Hawaii traffic ticket fines, court costs, and surcharges vary depending on the severity of your offense.
Refer to your HI traffic ticket for the total fine amount. If you do not have your HI traffic ticket, please contact the HI district court for more details.
Dismiss a Traffic Ticket
In Hawaii, you may be able to dismiss a traffic ticket by completing a defensive driving course.
For some violation, the Hawaii traffic court may require you to attend the course to satisfy your traffic ticket.
To check your eligibility, read your traffic ticket or contact the appropriate HI district court.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Hawaii
In Hawaii, you can pay your traffic ticket either:
- You CANNOT pay your traffic ticket online if it has been more than 21 days since you received the ticket.
- By phone.
- By mail.
- In person.
For complete instructions, visit the HI State Judiciary website.
NOTE: Some violations may require a mandatory court appearance. Be sure to read your Hawaii traffic ticket carefully.
Fight a HI Traffic Ticket
To fight your traffic ticket in Hawaii, you must either:
- Submit a written statement.
- Request a court hearing by mail within 21 days of receiving the ticket.
- The court handling your case will let you know when and where your court hearing will be.
For complete instructions, visit the Hawaii State Judiciary website.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've lost your HI traffic citation, you'll need to contact the appropriate district court for specific ticket information.
Once you get in contact with the right district court, you can ask for information about your ticket fines and court costs, due dates, and plea/payment methods.
Be prepared to provide some personal information, such as your:
- Full name.
- HI driver's license number.
- Date of birth.
- License plate number.
NOTE: If you have your citation number, you can look up your HI traffic ticket online.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you have a Hawaii commercial driver's license (CDL), you must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation conviction. This is required even if you weren't driving a commercial vehicle at the time.
If the court convicts you of any of the following major offenses, you'll lose your CDL for 1 year:
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV).
- Driving a CMV with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- CMV operated when the driver has had their CDL revoked, cancelled or suspended or they were disqualified from operating a CMV.
- The negligent use of a CMV that results in a fatality.
- Operating a CMV when the driver is under the effects of a controlled substance.
- Commission of a felony crime including the making, distributing or dispensing of a controlled substance,
Visit our Hawaii CDL Suspensions page for more details.
Hawaii Traffic Tickets: FAQs
You can visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more information about traffic tickets, including: