Pay Traffic Ticket in Hawaii
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
In Hawaii, you can pay your traffic ticket online, by phone, by mail, and in person. For detailed payment instructions, check your HI traffic ticket or visit the Hawaii State Judiciary website.
NOTE: If more than 21 days have passed since receiving your HI traffic ticket, you CANNOT pay your ticket online.
Keep reading for information on how to pay your traffic ticket, ways to reduce your driving record points, and how you can fight your traffic ticket or get it dismissed.
- Pay the fine.
- Go to court (if your citation indicates).
- Have the violation show up on your traffic abstract.
- Potential for higher auto insurance rates.
Learn more below
(Plead Not Guilty or Admit Litigated)
- Contest the ticket during a hearing or in writing.
- Admit guilt but explain your actions (if you choose this option).
- Defend yourself or hire an attorney to represent you.
- Potentially lose plea bargain options.
- Pay only any applicable court cost and attorney fees if found not guilty.
- Appeal the guilty verdict (if applicable).
Learn more about
Fighting Your Traffic Ticket »
Responding to Your HI Traffic Ticket
Paying your HI traffic ticket means admitting guilt, and when you choose this option:
- You can usually pay your traffic ticket fine online and avoid a court appearance UNLESS:
- It has been over 21 days since you were ticketed.
- Your citation indicates that you must appear in court.
- The traffic violation will show up on your driving abstract (or driving history), which is available to potential employers and insurance agencies.
- You might end up paying more for auto insurance the next time you renew your policy. This depends on your carrier, current policy, and driving history.
Note that if:
- You're a teenager with a provisional license, you face a driver's license revocation for certain HI traffic violations.
- You're charged with a “traffic crime" (as opposed to a “traffic infraction") you must appear in court. Generally this is printed on your HI traffic ticket.
Your HI traffic ticket should include a date by which you must respond to your ticket. Failing to meet this deadline puts you at risk for an arrest warrant and driver's license suspension or revocation. If your traffic ticket doesn't include this information, contact your district's Traffic Violations Bureau (TVB) or your district court.
In Hawaii, CDL drivers must notify your employer within 30 days of conviction, regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving at the time. If the violation occurs outside of the jurisdiction you must also notify the licensing agency within 30 days.
Be aware that pleading "guilty," which is the same as admitting guilt or receiving a "guilty" verdict, can bring stiffer penalties than just a mark on your driving abstract and increased auto insurance.Refer to our Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties page for more details.
How to Pay Your HI Traffic Ticket
Some drivers can pay their traffic ticket fines using a statewide online payment system, or they can choose from among other payment methods provided by their specific court.
Pay Your Traffic Ticket Online
You can pay your HI traffic ticket online using the eTraffic Hawaii system, UNLESS you were ticketed over 21 days ago—in this case, you've missed the window to be able to pay online, and must handle your ticket at your district court. Similarly, if your citation is of a caliber that requires a court appearance, your ticket will say so.
Other Payment Methods
Generally, the ticketing officer provides an answer form or envelope with the ticket, and this document provides information about how to pay your ticket by mail or by phone (including the exact mailing address and telephone number).
When you speak with a court clerk in Hawaii, find out:
- Whether you can pay your ticket in person, by mail, or by phone to that court directly, or if you need to use a central address or telephone number.
- Which payment methods are acceptable for which payment option.
Driving School & Ticket Dismissal
Whether you can get your ticket dismissed by completing a driver improvement course depends on factors like the circumstances of your offense and your personal driving history. Your judge must approve this option, and judges make these decisions on a case-by-case basis.
If you're given the opportunity to have your ticket dismissed after completing a course, the court likely will provide you with a list of approved schools and a deadline to complete the program.
For more information, contact the court handling your traffic ticket.
Tickets & Your HI Driving Record
Hawaii no longer implements a point system, but the state does keep tabs on your driving habits with what's called a driving abstract (or driving record). Everyone from auto insurance providers to potential employers can take a peek at these abstracts.
Refer to our Driving Records section to learn how to get a copy of yours to make sure it reflects accurate traffic violation information.