Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Hawaii
In Hawaii, mopeds and motor scooter are distinctly different types of motor-driven cycles by definition, but they are similar when it comes to the state’s requirement for registration, insurance, and certain types of licenses to operate them.
Mopeds in Hawaii
In Hawaii, a moped is a motor-driven cycle that has:
- Either 2 wheels or 3 wheels in contact with the ground.
- An engine displacement of no more than 50 cc and/or a motor output of no more than 2 horsepower.
- A direct or automatic power drive system that doesn’t require operation of a clutch or gear shift once the system is engaged.
- The ability to operate no faster than 30 mph on a level surface.
Registering and Operating a Moped in HI
In the state of Hawaii, you MUST register your moped, and if it has 3 wheels, it must ALSO be insured with liability and property coverage.
For moped registration instructions in your country, refer to the following county links and contacts:
- Hawaii County.
- Honolulu County.
- Maui County.
- Kauai County: Call the Kauai Motor Vehicle Registration Division (MVR) at (808) 241-4256 for details.
ADDITIONALLY, to ride a moped in the state of Hawaii you must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Have a motorcycle instruction permit when learning to operate a moped on public roadways.
- After you meet the instruction permit requirements, you can operate a moped on public roads with any driver’s license class OR with a Class 1 moped license (Class 1 licenses are issued in a similar fashion to HI motorcycle licenses).
If you have further questions about mopeds in your county, call your local motor vehicle office for assistance.
Hawaii Moped Safety Laws
While operating a moped in Hawaii, you must:
- Wear a safety helmet with a chin strap if you’re younger than 18 years old.
- Face forward and sit astride the seat with a leg on each side of the moped.
- NOT carry any passengers UNLESS your moped has 3 wheels and is designed to have a driver and passenger seated side by side.
HI Motor Scooters
A motor scooter in HI is any motorcycle with a motor that doesn’t produce over 5 horsepower and can’t be categorized as a moped.
Operating a Motor Scooter in HI
Hawaii treats motor scooters much the same way as it does motorcycles, meaning you must:
- Register and insure your motor scooter, following the same steps for HI motorcycle registration.
- Have a Class 2 license, which is the state’s motorcycle license.
- You’ll go through all the same motorcycle permit and license requirements including written exams and skills tests.
For specifics on the motor scooter requirements in your HI county of residence, contact your local motor vehicle office.
Hawaii Motor Scooter Safety Laws
While driving your motor scooter in HI, you and any passenger on the scooter must:
- Wear safety goggles or safety glasses or a face shield if your motor scooter isn’t equipped with a windscreen or windshield.
- Wear a helmet with a chin strap if you are younger than 18 years old.