DMV Point System in Georgia
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Collecting points may help you win games, but when it comes to driving, having too many can cause you to lose.
Read below for more information on the DMV point system in Georgia and its effects on your license.
Georgia Point System Basics
If driving were a game, it would be scored like golf—the more points you get, the worse you're doing.
Each time you are convicted of or plead guilty to a moving violation in Georgia, the state assigns a certain number of points to your driver's license. The number of points each ticket is worth depends on the severity of the violation.
One thing that doesn't change, however, is what happens when you acquire too many points. The GA Department of Driver Services (DDS) will suspend your license if you accrue 15 points over the course of 24 months.
Points on your license may hurt you in other ways, too. Earning too many can have a negative impact on your auto insurance rate.
Keep reading to see how many points you may be on the hook for when committing some common violations.
NOTE: Points added to a GA commercial driver's license may come with additional penalties.
Auto insurance rate too high? You could see it go up even higher if you get too many points on your license.
Find out more about how tickets impact your insurance—and how to keep it as low as possible.
GA Point System Schedule
How many points your Georgia traffic ticket is worth ranges from 2 to 6 points, depending on the severity of the violation.
Some common offenses, and their corresponding points, in the Peach State include:
- Speeding 15 through 18 MPH over the posted speed limit—2 points.
- Having an open alcohol container in the car—2 points.
- Speeding 19 through 23 MPH over the posted limit—3 points.
- Not obeying a police officer—3 points.
- Speeding 24 through 33 MPH over the posted speed limit—4 points.
- Reckless driving—4 points.
- Speeding 34 MPH or faster over the posted limit—6 points.
- Aggressive driving—6 points.
If you didn't see your violation listed above, you can check out the full point schedule posted by the GA Department of Driver Services.
Don't get blindsided by a license suspension! Make sure you know exactly how many points are on your driver's license when you order your Georgia driving record.
Reducing Driving Record Points
Nervous about how many points you've racked up? Don't worry—there's a way to undo some of that damage.
If you successfully complete a defensive driving class in Georgia, the GA DDS will reduce up to 7 points. Note that this can only be applied once every 5 years.
You may ONLY apply for a reduction with your defensive driving course completion certificate in-person at a Georgia DDS office OR by mail at:
Department of Driver Services
P.O. Box 80447
Conyers, GA 30013
Contact your local DDS office if you have any more questions about how long points remain on your Georgia driver's license.