Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Georgia
The state defines a moped as a vehicle that:
- Has an engine that doesn't exceed 50 cubic centimeters.
- Can't go faster than 30 MPH.
- Doesn't require clutching or shifting.
If a vehicle exceeds either of the first two qualifications, it's likely considered to be a motorcycle or a scooter, and must follow the rules pertaining to motorcycles.
Mopeds can't be used on roads where the minimum speed is above 35 MPH, or on limited-access highways. Additionally, you'll need to be at least 15 years old and have a valid driver's license, instructional permit, or limited permit to drive a moped. You must also wear a helmet when riding.
Mopeds aren't required to be titled or registered.
Scooters are placed in the same category as motorcycles, and must obey the same laws and regulations.
Scooters are defined as a vehicle with a saddle for the use of the rider, and meant to be driven with 3 wheels or fewer on the ground. To be eligible for a title and registration, the scooter must have an engine of more than 50 cubic centimeters and be designed for highway use.
Title and Registration Procedure
You'll need to provide a copy of the manufacturer's certificate of origin or a current title signed over to you, and then Certification of Inspection by a Duly Constituted Georgia Law Enforcement Officer (Form T-22B) when a designated agent or law enforcement office inspects the vehicle.
Your street-legal scooter will be treated much like a motorcycle during the registration process. The cost of a motorcycle tag is $20, plus any taxes and fees due at the time of registration.
Certificate of Inspection by a Duly Constituted Georgia Law Enforcement Officer - T-22B
Completed by a Georgia law enforcement officer when a VIN inspection is required for registration, usually for vehicles without titles.
Affidavit of Fact for a Motorcycle or Motor Scooter - T-228
Use this form to verify details about a motorcycle OR motor scooter you're looking to title with the MVD. Must be signed by a GA notary public.