Accident Guide in Georgia
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
The Georgia Driver's Manual provides a detailed list of actions you should take if you are involved in an accident. The manual advises that you:
- Stop and pull over in a safe place.
- Report the accident immediately to local law enforcement if anyone is killed, if there is an injury, or if there is property damage greater than $500.
- Provide assistance to those injured, if possible.
- Activate your vehicle's hazard lights to alert approaching motorists.
- Provide your name, address, license plate number, driver's license number, and insurance information to the other parties involved in the accident, and get the same information from them. You can do this while waiting for law enforcement to arrive on the scene.
If law enforcement is not called to the scene of an accident, you'll need to complete a Personal Report of Accident. This form is for your personal use only, to be filed by you for later use if needed. Do not send this form in to a government agency; it will only be destroyed. This form could protect you in court if needed at a future time; it records the information just after the accident happened, so it will help you remember events as they occurred during that time.