Title Transfers in Florida

How to Complete a Florida Auto Title Transfer:
  • Fill in the vehicle title transfer information on the title itself.
  • Submit a title application.
  • Pay the applicable title transfer fees.
  • Keep reading for more details about FL vehicle title transfers.

FL Dealership Car Title Transfers

When you buy a car or other vehicle from a licensed dealer, they'll usually handle the title and registration paperwork on your behalf.

If you choose to title the vehicle with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) yourself, you can follow the steps in Private Sale Auto Title Transfers below.

Private Sale Auto Title Transfers

Most of the time, you'll transfer a car title yourself when you buy or sell a vehicle privately.

To ensure the title transfer goes smoothly, both the buyer and seller should know the forms, documents, and other items required by the Florida DHSMV.

Buying a Vehicle

When you buy a vehicle from a private seller, you will need the following items to complete your car title transfer and registration:

  • The title with the transfer section completed by the seller.
  • The Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form HSMV 82040).
    • If your vehicle is leased or financed, you'll fill this out in your leasing or financing company's name.
  • Proof of your car insurance, for example:
    • An insurance card.
    • Your auto insurance policy.
  • A completed Florida Insurance Affidavit (Form HSMV 83330).
  • A power of attorney, if your vehicle is leased and you need to sign on behalf of your leasing company.
  • Payment for title transfer fees:
    • $75.25 to get an electronic title OR an additional $2.50 for a paper title.
    • $2 per lien if you'll have a lien on the vehicle.
    • Registration and license plate fees based on the weight of the vehicle.

You AND the vehicle owner should go together to a FL tax collector's office to avoid any complications when completing the DMV title transfer.

If you are outside of FL, you can mail the forms and fees to your local county office.

Additional Documents

Be sure the owner has a lien satisfaction document for any liens listed on the title. Otherwise, you will be responsible for liens once you own the vehicle.

You should also get a Bill of Sale as proof that you bought the vehicle. You can have the bill of sale form notarized for added verification.

Selling a Vehicle

If you're selling your motor vehicle privately, you must:

  • Complete the title transfer section on your vehicle title.
  • Give the buyer a Bill of Sale form as proof of purchase, and keep a copy for yourself.
    • You may want to have this notarized to ensure its validity.
  • Provide one of the following if the vehicle had a lien:
    • A lien satisfaction document.
    • A lien-free title.

In addition to the above, you may also choose to:

New to Florida Title Transfers

When you move to Florida from another state, you'll need to get a FL title and vehicle registration, including FL license plates.

To complete a car title transfer with the FL DHSMV, you'll need:

Submit all paperwork and fees to your county tax collector's office either:

  • By mail.
  • In person.

If you order a paper title, it will be sent within 4 weeks of applying.

Electronic Title Transfers

If the vehicle you're buying or selling doesn't have a paper title, the DMV title transfer process in Florida will be slightly different.

You can:

  • Apply for the duplicate/paper title AND transfer the title in one transaction if you already have a buyer.
  • Order a duplicate/paper title THEN transfer it when you have the title and a buyer.

If you're the buyer, you can get the paper title AND complete the DMV title transfer at the same time by:

Submit the above to your Florida county tax office:

  • In person.
  • By mail if you're outside of the state.

If you're the seller and want a copy of the title BEFORE you complete a title transfer, you'll need to request a duplicate title. The fee for a paper title is an additional  $2.50.

You will then need to complete the vehicle title transfer once you have the replacement vehicle title.

NOTE: Some title offices offer same-day title printing for an ADDITIONAL $10 fee.

Inherited, Gifted, or Donated Vehicles

When the ownership of a vehicle changes hands for any reasons, you must complete a car title transfer with the Florida DHSMV.

Read below for more information about other situations in which you'll need a DMV title transfer.

Inheriting a Vehicle

When you inherit a motor vehicle from a deceased person, you'll need to apply for a transfer of ownership with the FL DHSMV.

To transfer the car title, you'll need:

  • The original title, if available.
  • The Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form HSMV HSMV 82040).
  • Payment for the title transfer fees:
    • $75.25 for an electronic title.
    • $2.50 additional fee for a paper title.
    • ADD $2 per lien for any liens on the vehicle.
  • Any other required documents. Contact your FL county tax office for more information. Commonly required documents include:
    • A copy of the owner's death certificate.
    • A copy of the will, trust, or court order.

Giving a Vehicle as a Gift

You can give or receive a vehicle as a gift in Florida.

You will simply complete a vehicle title transfer just as you would when you buy or sell a car.

Be sure to complete one of the following as proof that you gave or received the vehicle at no cost:

Donating a Vehicle

Many non-profit organizations accept vehicle donations. Contact your favorite charity to learn more about their specific donation guidelines.

You'll find more information on our Car Donation page.

For information about car title transfers when you donate a vehicle, contact the Florida DHSMV.

Fees for Florida Car Title Transfers

Several factors affect the title transfer fee you'll pay for an auto title transfer in Florida.

Common fees include:

  • Vehicle title transfer within FL:
    • Electronic title issued: $75.25.
    • Paper title issued additional fee: $2.50.
    • ADD $2 lien fee for each lien.
  • Title transfer from out of state:
    • Electronic title new vehicle: $77.25.
    • Electronic title used vehicle: $85.25.
    • New to FL vehicle fee: $225.
    • ADD $2 lien fee for each lien on the vehicle.
    • ADD $2.50 for a paper title.
  • Same-day service (available at some locations): $10 PLUS applicable title transfer fee.

You'll also pay vehicle registration fees if you're registering your vehicle at the same time.

Change Your FL Vehicle Title

If you change your name or move to a different Florida address, you need to update your FL DHSMV license and vehicle records.

Name Change

To change the name on your title and registration, you'll need to transfer the vehicle title into your new name.

Go in person to your FL county tax office with:

  • The Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form HSMV HSMV 82040).
  • Payment for the appropriate title transfer fee:
    • Title transfer electronic title: $75.25.
    • Title paper printing and handling fee : $2.50.
    • Title transfer with a lien additional per lien fee : $2.
    • Fast title fee: $10.

You may also want to take proof of your name change, such as your marriage license or court order.

Our Name Change page has more information about updating your driver's license and other documents.

Address Change

When you move within the state, you'll need to notify the FL DHSMV of your new address.

You can update the address and contact details on your title AND registration:

  • Online.
    • You may find it helpful to have your title and/or registration handy for quick access to your vehicle information.
  • In person at your county tax collector's office.
    • You can bring your vehicle title and/or registration with you for reference.

Visit our Address Change page for details about FL driver's license changes.

Replace a Florida Title

You can order a duplicate title if yours is lost, stolen, or damaged.

To replace your vehicle title, you'll need:

You can replace it by mail or in person. Some county tax offices offer same-day service for an ADDITIONAL $10 fee. Contact your local office for availability.

Learn more on our Replacing a Lost Title page.

Is your registration or license plate missing or damaged? Visit our Replacing a Lost Registration in Florida page for helpful information.


HSMV 82042
Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification
VIN verification required when titling OR registering an out-of-state vehicle with the FL Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Must be completed by an authorized agent of the state.
HSMV 83330
Insurance Affidavit
Use this form to certify you have the required car insurance to register your vehicle with the Florida DHSMV.
HSMV 82040
Use this form to title your vehicle with the FL Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Complete this form to title a vehicle in your name.
DMV.ORG BBB Business Review