Suspended CDL in Florida
Commercial Driver's License Suspensions in Florida
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) administers commercial driver's license (CDL) suspensions in the state.
There are many reasons your CDL could be suspended, including:
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- Driving while in possession of a controlled substance.
- Refusing to take a blood alcohol level (BAC) test.
- Receiving 2 serious offenses or more within 3 years.
If you're looking for non-CDL-related information, please visit our Suspended License in Florida page.
About Your Suspended Florida CDL
If you were convicted of any of the violations mentioned above, the duration of your suspension will be based on the severity of your violation.
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol: 1 year *.
- Driving while in possession of a controlled substance: 1 year *.
- Refusing to take a blood alcohol (BAC) test: 1 year.
- Receiving 2 serious offenses within 3 years: 60 days.
- Receiving 3 serious offenses within 3 years: 120 days.
* Not eligible for a hardship license.
In addition to state-specific laws and regulations, commercial drivers are also subject to federal regulations controlled by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), including:
- License disqualifications and/or disqualifications for violating out-of-service orders.
- Disqualifications and suspensions for 60 days to life for serious violations, including:
- Driving under the influence (DUI).
- Leaving the scene of an accident you are involved in.
- Reckless driving.
- Excessive speeding.
- Violating railroad-highway grade crossings.
- Texting while operating a CMV.
NOTE: All commercial drivers are required by law to notify employers within 30 days of any traffic conviction.If your conviction occurs outside of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles' jurisdiction you must also notify the DHSMV within 30 days. For more information about federal regulations and penalties, please visit the FMCSA website.
DUI Commercial Driver License Suspensions
If you are caught driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher, you will be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). Your CDL will be suspended and you will not be allowed to drive a commercial vehicle for at least 1 year. You will also be ineligible for a hardship license.
If you were transporting hazardous materials at the time of your conviction, your CDL will be disqualified for a minimum of 3 years.
Once your disqualification period is up, you'll need to pay a reinstatement fee that will vary depending on your infraction. See “Fees to Reinstate Your Florida CDL" below.
CDL Suspension Hearings and Appeals
If your Florida CDL was suspended failing or refusing a BAC test, you may be able to request a hearing to contest your suspension.
You will need to request your hearing with your local FLHSMV Bureau for Administrative Reviews office within 5 days of your arrest. You may be charged a $25 hearing fee.
NOTE: Administrative hearings do not affect court decisions or proceedings. They only relate to suspensions given by the FLHSMV.
For more information about appealing a suspended license in Florida, contact your local FLHSMV office.
Choose a local attorney to assist with your Florida CDL suspension and get you back on the roads.
Reinstate Your Commercial Driver's License
In Florida, the requirements to have your CDL reinstated will depend on the reason for your suspension.
In most cases, you will need to wait out the disqualification period and pay the disqualification reinstatement fee to have your CDL restored.
Contact your local FLHSMV office for information specific to your situation.
Fees to Reinstate Your Commercial Driver's License
The fees to reinstate your Florida CDL will vary based on your specific situation and reason for suspension. You may also need to pay additional court-ordered fines or fees if you were convicted in court.
Below are some general fees for non-CDL reinstatement that may apply to your CDL reinstatement as well. For specifics, please contact your local FLHSMV office.
- Reinstatement fee: $75.
- D-6 suspension (for unpaid traffic tickets): $60.
- Alcohol and drug-related suspensions: $130.