License Renewal in Florida
COVID-19 Effects on Licensing Services
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Florida DHSMV has issued a 30-day extension for all expiring licenses and ID cards and is waiving all late renewal fees during the extension. If possible, residents should use the DMV's online services to complete any relevant transactions. Offices may also have restricted hours or be closed entirely. Follow the DHSMV's recent updates for the latest information.
To renew your Florida driver's license:
- Visit the Florida GoRenew Online System.
- Enter your driver's license number, birth date, and SSN.
- Pay the $48 renewal fee.
For eligibility requirements and other renewal options, continue reading!
Driver's License Renewal in Florida
You must renew your FL driver's license before it expires if you plan to continue driving in the state.
REAL ID License Renewals
The FL DHSMV complies with the REAL ID Act in order to meet federal requirements. Its REAL ID-compliant licenses allow their holders to board domestic flights or enter federal facilities.
If you currently hold a non-compliant FL driver's license, you will be required to bring a series of identification documents to your local FL DMV driver license office when you renew your FL driver's license. Details are below.
When to Renew Your FL Driver's License
Before your license expires, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) will mail you a renewal notice telling you that it's time to renew. The DHSMV allows you to renew your valid FL driver's license up to 18 months before the expiration date.
Checking on your license mailing status?
If you need to find out the status of your renewed license, contact the Florida DHSMV—unfortunately, DMV.ORG cannot check on this information for you.
Jump over to our Status Check page and choose your state and preferred method of contact for the proper office.
- Your FL driver's license will be valid for 8 years at a time.
- If you're 80 years old or older, your FL driver license will be valid for 6 years and you'll be required to pass a vision test to renew it.
Your eligibility will differ from the above if your license is:
- Suspended or revoked.
- Missing or damaged.
See the options below if any of these pertain to you.
FL License Renewal Options & Steps
REAL ID-Compliant Renewals
If you currently hold a non-compliant FL driver's license, you're required to make switch to the new REAL ID driver's licenses.
To become REAL ID-compliant in Florida, you must bring a series of identification documents in person to your local FL DMV driver license office when you renew. For a complete list, visit the Florida DHSMV document guide.
You can renew your FL driver license online or in person at your local Florida DMV office. You cannot renew your driver's license in Florida by phone or by mail**.
See each option below for details on how to renew.
**Military members: Please see the Out-of-State Military Members section below for your options.
If you're 80 years old or older, you must pass a vision test when you renew your FL driver license. You may have your vision test administered by a medical doctor, osteopathic physician, or an optometrist.
Your doctor must complete the Mature Driver Vision Test (Form HSMV 72119) and submit it to the FL DHSMV. If you pass the vision test, you may proceed with your FL driver's license renewal. Otherwise, you must visit a FL licensed eye specialist and complete a Report of Eye Exam (Form HSMV 72010).
NOTE: Vision tests administered by out-of-state doctors are not accepted.
Out-of-State Military Members
IMPORTANT: Military Stationed in Germany
If you are currently stationed in Germany, please be aware that some states require you to have a valid U.S. driver's license in addition to your USAREUR license. Read our article for more information.
If you're a FL military member stationed outside of Florida, you can:
- Renew your FL driver's license online or by mail up to 18 months in advance.
- Apply for an extension.
Choose your option below for details.
License Renewal Fees in FL
- Class E driver's license renewal fee: $48.
- Late fee: $15 (in addition to renewal fee).
- Florida skills retest: $20.
- Florida knowledge retest: $10.
- Tax Collector Additional Service fee: $6.25.
Accepted Payment Methods
All Florida state-sponsored DHSMV service centers accept the following payment options:
- Discover Card.
- American Express.
For online transactions, payment must be made by credit/debit card only.
Contact your local FL DMV driver license office for more information about acceptable payment methods.
- HSMV 72010
- HSMV 73032
- HSMV 72119