Registration Renewal in Florida
To renew your registration with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV):
- Use the DHSMV's online renewal portal.
- Utilize a third-party online service for expedited processing and delivery.
- Mail your vehicle registration renewal notice and fees, if eligible.
- Visit your local DHSMV office in person with your renewal notice or registration certificate.
Ready for more details? Keep reading below!
New to Florida?
Did you just move to Florida or purchase a new vehicle in the state? If so, check out our Car Registration page to determine how to complete your initial registration.
Florida Registration Renewal Cycles
The FLHSMV provides a number of different renewal cycles and expiration dates that vary depending on the type of vehicle you own. Some residents may have the option of renewing every two years (see “Two-Year Renewal" below).
Standard Motor Vehicle (e.g. car, truck)
- If you own a standard motor vehicle, then you must renew every year by your birthday, with the renewal period beginning 90 days prior to the registration deadline.
- If a vehicle is registered to more than one person (e.g. husband and wife), the date of birth of the first person listed on the registration will be used as the renewal deadline.
- For motor vehicles owned by a company, the registration must be renewed annually by the last day of the designated month determined during the initial registration.
Mobile Homes and RVs
If you own a mobile home or RV, you must renew every year by December 31, and the renewal period begins 31 days prior to the deadline.
Motorcycle registrations must be renewed every year on the designated registration month, which is determined during your initial registration period.
For commercial vehicles, including semi-trucks, heavy trucks, tractor-trailers, buses, etc., the registration must be renewed every six months (on May 31 and December 31) or every year on December 31, depending on the vehicle classification and its intended purpose.
FL Two-Year Registration Renewal
Depending on your type of vehicle, you may be eligible to renew every two years (biennially). Your eligibility is determined by the FLHSMV.
If you're eligible to renew for two years, your renewal fees will double, but your month and day of expiration will not change.
For more information on biennial renewals, including types of vehicle's and registration that do NOT qualify, check out the FLHSMV's Renewal Procedures Manual.
To check the status of your registration renewal, contact the Florida DMV.
FL Registration Renewal Notice
As a courtesy to remind you to renew your registration, your county may send you a notice prior to your vehicles expiration date containing such information as:
- Renewal fees.
- Renewal date.
- Information about your vehicle.
- Available renewal methods.
Didn't Receive a FL Registration Renewal Notice?
Your county is not required to send a renewal notice. If you're searching for a florida tag lookup, chances are you didn't receive your notice. Whether you get one or not, you are required to renew your registration on time or risk being fined.
Renewing Your Florida Registration
FL Liability Insurance Requirements
To legally drive in Florida, you must maintain a minimum level of auto liability insurance at all times. If you no longer meet the state minimums or do not have coverage, you can't renew your FL registration.
If you need to obtain or change coverage, check the rates of different providers in our Insurance Center section.
DID YOU KNOW?: Proof of car insurance may be REQUIRED when renewing your registration!
Compare rates and buy your policy online: Open the Insurance Center >>
You can renew your registration online up to 3 months before your registration expires. However, you can't use this option if your proof of insurance is not on file with the FLHSMV.
To renew online:
- Go to the FLHSMV's GoRenew page.
- Choose between entering your:
―Driver's license number.
―Vehicle's license plate number.
―Vehicle identification number (VIN).
―Transaction number listed on your current registration certificate.
- Enter your date of birth.
- Enter the last four digits of your Social Security number.
- Verify that your information (e.g. name, address, vehicle information) is correct.
- Pay your renewal fee with a Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express credit card.
Renew in Person
Go to your local County Tax Collector Office with:
- Your renewal notice or current registration certificate.
- Your driver's license or FL ID card.
- Present your proof of car insurance.
- Payment for your registration renewal fee. Most offices accept cash, check, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express. Call before visiting for accepted forms of payment.
You will be given your new decals and registration certificate at the office. Another individual may renew your registration for you, provided that person is able to present your vehicle's registration certificate and proof of insurance.
Renew by Mail
To renew by mail, you must receive a renewal notice indicating you're eligible for this option.
To complete your renewal, send your fee payment to the address listed on your renewal notice or to your County Tax Collector office.
Florida registration renewal fees vary depending on such things as:
- Your vehicle type.
- Vehicle weight.
- The length of your registration.
- County specific fees.
- Additional fees for leased vehicles.
Some base fees for vehicle registrations include:
- Up to 2499 lbs. — $14.50
- Between 2500 to 3499 lbs.— $22.50
- 3500 lbs. or heavier — $32.50
- Motorcycles — $10
- Up to 1999 lbs. — $14.50
- Between 2000 to 3000 lbs. — $22.50
- Between 3001 to 5000 lbs. — $32.50
Your registration renewal notice will list a complete breakdown of the fees that you will owe.
New Florida License Plates & Fees
Florida law requires that residents completely replace their license plates every 10 years. Your FLHSMV renewal notice will indicate if you need new license plates when renewing your tags. The plate fees vary by automobile type and weight.
Late Fees and Penalties
Late fees apply if you wait 11 days after the end of the month in which your registration expires. Late fees vary depending on the type of vehicle you own and your length of delinquency.
Florida Registration for Military Members
If you're stationed out of state, you may renew online (see above). You can renew up to 3 months before your registration expires, and you don't need a renewal notice to do so.
The FLHSMV recommends a biennial (2 years) renewal, if you qualify, especially if you have an extended deployment coming up.
FL Emissions Testing
The FLHSMV no longer requires emissions testing before renewing your registration, but it's always wise to take steps to prevent your vehicle from emitting dangerous pollutants into the atmosphere.
Visit our Emissions Section for information on Florida clean air programs.
Replacement Certificates, Stickers, and License Plates
Don't get caught driving without proof of your vehicle's registration status. If you don't have your registration certificate, get a duplicate from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles immediately.
The same is also true if your license plates were stolen―get replacements right away.
Florida Registration Renewal: FAQs
How do I renew my Florida tags online?
To renew your tags online in Florida, visit the state's FLHSMV's GoRenew and enter the requested info (driver's license number, plate number, VIN, birth date, etc.), and pay your renewal fees with a valid credit or debit card.
Where can I renew my Florida vehicle registration?
You can renew your Florida vehicle registration at your local county tax collector's office, or you can renew online or by mail if your notice states you are eligible.
How do I check if my tags are expired in Florida?
To check if your tags are expired in Florida, look at the top-right corner of your registration. This has the date and time that your tags are set to expire. Your plate sticker also shows the expiration date.
How much does it cost to renew a registration tag in Florida?
Base renewal fees cost between $14.50 and $32.50 to renew a standard automobile registration tag in Florida; between $14.50 and $32.50 to renew a truck registration tag; and $10 to renew a motorcycle registration tag. Additional fees include registration use fees, license plate fees based on type, and your vehicle's class code, which is determined by its weight, body type, vehicle type, and registration use.