Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Florida
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
In Florida, there are classifications for both mopeds and motorized scooters. Be aware of which classification your vehicle falls into, as there are different requirements for each.
If your vehicle exceeds the specifications for a moped or motorized scooter, it will be classified as a motorcycle and will be held subject to all Florida motorcycle licensing and registration laws.
Moped Classification in Florida
A moped is defined as a vehicle that has:
- A seat for the rider
- Pedals that allow you to propel the vehicle
- 3 wheels or fewer
- A motor of two-brake horsepower or less
- Maximum speed of 30 MPH on level ground
- An automatic power-drive system that does not require the rider to manually change gears
- Displacement of 50 cc or less (for those with an internal combustion engine)
License, Registration and Insurance Requirements
All moped drivers need to have a valid Class E driver's license and be at least 16 years old or older to drive a moped on a public road. Your moped must be registered, which you can do at your local county tax collector office. You will be issued motorcycle license plates, which you will need to renew annually. If you're under 21 years old, your plate will have a distinctive design and color.
The fee for registering a moped is $5, though other statutory fees and titling fees may apply.
You will need to observe the following requirements and regulations:
- You will not be allowed to ride your moped on bike or foot paths
- All passengers 16 years old or under must wear a helmet
Moped drivers are no longer required to carry Personal Injury Protection insurance in order to register a moped in FL.
Florida Motorized Scooter
A motorized scooter is defined as a vehicle that is:
- without a seat or saddle for the use of the rider
- Designed to travel on 3 wheels or less
- Operates at a maximum speed of 30 MPH on level ground
You are required to have a valid Class E driver's license and you must be at least 16 years old to ride a motorized scooter in the state of Florida. You cannot register or title a motorized scooter, and you cannot drive a motorized scooter on sidewalks. There are no insurance requirements in Florida regarding the operation of a motorized scooter.
If your moped's specifications exceed the definitions on this page, it is classified as a motorcycle and is subject to Florida's laws regarding motorcycle license requirements.