Other Vehicle Registrations in Florida
For a convenient concierge experience and expedited vehicle registration renewal with extra services, you can use a licensed 3rd-party for an additional fee. See below for more details.
eTags provides a quick, easy and refreshing alternative to the FLHSMV. For $19.95 (plus additional fees and state taxes*), you can painlessly renew your registration and receive a digital copy of your vehicle registration in just a few simple steps.
|Service Comparison||State Agency|
|e-Copy of Registration||No|
|One Free Lost Registration Replacement||No|
|Renew without SSN||Requires SSN|
|Learn More||Do it for me|
With the great weather that Florida is blessed with, it's no wonder that all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and off-highway motorcycles (OHMs) are immensely popular throughout the state. Let's take a look at some of the rules and regulations regarding these vehicles.
Off-Highway Vehicles in Florida
In Florida, both all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and off-highway motorcycles (OHMs) fall under the umbrella of off-highway vehicles (OHVs). What exactly is an OHV? It's defined by state lawmakers as any ATV, two-rider ATV, or OHM meant to be used off the state's roads and highways, and is not licensed for highway use.
OHVs must be titled in Florida, but do not need to be registered, as they aren't permitted on public highways.
NOTE: Swamp buggies and dune buggies are not considered off-highway vehicles and are not required to be titled in Florida.
This is a motorized vehicle meant for a single rider (some ATVs are designed to also take a passenger). It will be 50 inches or less in width, with an unladen dry weight of 1,200 lbs. or less. It travels on 3 tires (low-pressure) or more, and has a seat that the operator straddles. It also has a handlebar-type steering control.
When operating an ATV, it's important to remember to be safe at all times. If you're younger than 16 years old, you must be wearing a helmet whenever you're on an ATV, regardless of whether you're the driver or a passenger. Failure to do so could result in a fine.
In Florida, you are not permitted to operate your ATV on any public road, streets, or highways, unless granted permission by a relevant government authority.
An OHM is described as any motor vehicle that travels on 2 wheels or fewer, and is meant for use off of Florida roads and highways. It should also feature a seat for the rider. This doesn't include mopeds or tractors.
The Florida Forest Service provides additional information on off-highway vehicle (OHV) use, including public and private riding areas.
Off-Highway Vehicles in Florida
All OHVs purchased after July 1, 2002, need to be titled in Florida. If you bought your OHV before that date and use the vehicle on public lands, your vehicle also needs a title.
The titling fee is $79.75 for a paper title and a $2.50 title print fee. Apply for the title at a Florida county tax collector or driver's license office. Be sure to complete an Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form HSMV 82040) and follow the procedures listed in the state's Guide to Florida OHV Title Law brochure.
For ATVs, the title decal must be affixed in a clearly visible spot on the left rear quadrant of the vehicle. For off-highway motorcycles, the decal goes on the left fork leg, in a location easily visible from the left side of the bike. Need to see a picture? The state provides visual guidance in its OHV brochure.
Custom-Built Car Registration
If you have a custom-built car in Florida, your registration process is going to be slightly different than registering a regular car. You'll need to visit your local Florida DHSMV office and:
- Submit a completed Application for Registration of a Street Rod, Custom Vehicle, Horseless Carriage or Antique (Permanent) (Form HSMV 83045).
- Pay the required fees (found on the application form).
- Submit an affidavit stating that your custom-built car meets the safety and equipment standards as required by the state.
NOTE: To register your car as a street rod, it must be manufactured before 1949. To register your car as a custom vehicle, it must be at least 25 years old and have been produced after 1948.
Moped and Scooter Registration
In Florida, mopeds and scooters have different registration requirements:
- A moped must be registered to be operated on public roads.
- A scooter CANNOT be registered or operated on public roads.
You can determine whether you have a moped or a scooter based on the state's legal definitions:
- A moped is operated while seated.
- A scooter is operated while standing.
Additional details, such as a vehicle's engine size, distinguish a moped from a motorcycle.
For more information about mopeds and scooters, including required licenses, see our page Scooters, Mopeds, Etc. in Florida.
RVs & Motorhomes
Registering your Florida recreational vehicle is the same process as registering any standard car or truck. Visit our page on Car Registration in Florida for details.
Titles Not Needed For...
Florida titles are not required for the following:
- Slide-in campers.
- Modular homes.
- Trailers weighing less than 2,000 lbs.
Application for Registration of a Street Rod, Custom Vehicle, Horseless Carriage or Antique (Permanent) - HSMV 83045
Application to permanently register an antique OR custom vehicle with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Use this form to title your vehicle with the FL Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. - HSMV 82040
Complete this form to title a vehicle in your name.