Learner's Permit Checklist in Florida
Online Driver's Ed for $49.00
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Approved by the California DMV
- Save 80% off traditional drivers ed
- Take Drivers Ed with our mobile app
- 99.5% student pass rate on the DMV exam
How to Get Your Florida Learner License
- Be at least 15 years old
- Complete a Traffic Laws and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course, also known as a Driver's Ed course
- Complete a practice test (optional) **
- Make an appointment at your local FL DMV office (optional)
** Did You Prepare for the Written Exam?
Your written exam can be quite intimidating if you're not fully prepared for it. In fact, around 70% of first-time applicants fail their first attempt.
Beat the statistics. Get a head start by taking a FL permit practice test.
Bring to the FL DHSMV:
- Proof of identity (please see below for acceptable documents)
- Proof of your Social Security number (i.e. your Social Security card)
- Proof of your Florida residency (please see below for acceptable documents)
- If your parent/guardian is providing proof of residency for you (see below), you will need to also provide a Certification of Address (Form HSMV 71120).
- Proof of completion for your TLSAE driver education course
- A completed Parental Content for a Driver Application of a Minor (Form HSMV 71142).
- This form MUST either:
- Be signed in the presence of the driver license examiner.
- Be notarized, if your parent or guardian can't come with you to the DMV office.
- This form MUST either:
- Payment for the $48 learner's permit fee
At the DMV...
- Have your parent or guardian sign the Parental Consent for Driver Application of a Minor (Form HSMV 71142), or submit a notarized form
- Submit the required documents listed above
- Pass the written knowledge exam, UNLESS you took the test as part of your TLSAE course
- Pass a vision exam
- Pay the $48 permit fee
List of Acceptable Documents
Proof of Identity
- Original or certified U.S. birth certificate
- Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Form N-550 or N-570
- Certificate of Citizenship
- Form N-560 or N-561
Proof of Social Security
- Social Security card
- W-2 form
- Pay check or pay stub
- SSA-1099 or any non-handwritten 1099 form
Proof of Residency
*NOTE: Since teen applicants likely don't possess many of these items on their own, your parent or guardian may provide their proof of residency for you, along with a written Certification of Address (Form HSMV 71120).
- Florida voter registration card
- Mortgage or rental statement
- Florida car title or registration card
- Auto insurance policy
- Auto payment booklet
- Homeowner's insurance policy
- Florida boat title or registration card
- Recent utility bill
- Selective Service card
- Medical or health insurance card that shows your address
- School transcripts from the current year
- W-2 or 1099 form
- Unexpired U.S. government-issued professional license
- Mail from a financial institution
- U.S. mail from city, county, state, or federal agencies
For a complete list of documents, please visit the Florida DHSMV's GatherGoGet website.
Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor - HSMV 71142
This form must be signed by a parent or guardian when a minor applies for a Florida driver's license.
Certification of Address - HSMV 71120
Use this form to certify your Florida residency when submitting certain applications to the DHSMV.