Traffic Tickets in Delaware
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee. Unlimited searches for 30 days—only $23.
"TruthFinder is a very accurate, updated system. Their information is proper and can be very helpful too." - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page to learn how to respond to your traffic ticket in Delaware.
Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
In Delaware, traffic ticket fines and courts costs will vary by violation and court. Check your traffic ticket for the full amount you must pay. If you have further questions, contact the appropriate DE traffic court.
DE Driving Record Points
When you receive a traffic ticket, the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will add points to your driving record, which will remain for 2 years.
If eligible, you may complete a defensive driving course to dismiss your traffic ticket and avoid driving record points. Visit our Traffic Schools in Delaware page for more information.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Delaware
NOTE: Some traffic tickets require a court appearance, even if you are pleading “guilty." Check your traffic ticket or contact the relevant Delaware for more information.
Depending on where you received your traffic ticket, you may be able to pay your DE traffic ticket fine (for a voluntary assessment ticket):
- By mail.
- By phone.
- By fax.
- In person.
You can read more about how to pay your DE traffic ticket on the Delaware State Court website. Be sure to pay your ticket within 30 days of receiving it, as your failure to do so could result in an arrest warrant and a driver’s license suspension.
Fight a DE Traffic Ticket
If you plan to submit a “not guilty" plea for a voluntary assessment traffic ticket, you'll need to:
- Sign the appropriate section on your traffic ticket.
- Mail the ticket to the address/number listed on your ticket.
- If you decide to fax your ticket, call (302) 739-6911 to confirm delivery.
NOTE: You must submit your plea by the court date listed on your traffic ticket.
The Delaware court will notify you of a location, date, and time that you must appear for trial. You may also want to get in touch with a DE traffic ticket attorney to help your case.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
To find your traffic ticket information after losing your actual ticket, call the Voluntary Assessment Center at (302) 739-6911. If your ticket was issued in a municipality, get in touch with the appropriate Alderman's court below:
- Bethany Beach: (302) 537-3891.
- Rehoboth: (302) 227-7917.
- Laurel: (302) 875-2855.
- Newport: (302) 994-6403.
- Newark: (302) 366-7028.
- Dewey Beach: (302) 227-6363.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you have a DE commercial driver's license (CDL), you must notify your employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic violation. This applies even if you were driving a non-commercial vehicle.
If you're convicted of any of the following offenses, you'll lose your CDL for 1 year:
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) when your license has been suspended, revoked or cancelled or if you were disqualified from operating a CMV.
- Using a CMV to commit a felony (This includes controlled substances that are dispensed, made or distributed using a CMV.
- A BAC over 0.04%.
- Driving under the influence of a controlled substance.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- A fatality that is the result of using a CMV negligently.
- Refusing to comply with implied consent laws.
You can visit our CDL Suspension page to get more information.