Replacing a Lost Registration in Delaware
Duplicate Vehicle Registrations and License Plates in Delaware
If your Delaware vehicle registration or license plates have been lost, stolen, or damaged, you should request replacements from the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as soon as possible.
Driving without your current vehicle registration can cause you problems if you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer. If your license plates are not affixed to your car, or if they are mutilated beyond the point of recognition, there is a good chance you'll be pulled over. If you can't provide your registration documents or don't have your license plates, you may receive a traffic ticket and fines, and your vehicle may be impounded.
On this page you'll find information about requesting a replacement license plate and Delaware vehicle registration.
Replacement Registration Cards in Delaware
If your current Delaware vehicle registration documents/cards are lost, stolen, or damaged, you'll need to visit your local Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in person to obtain replacement cards.
To obtain the replacement registration documents, you'll need to provide:
- Proof of your current car insurance policy.
- Your vehicle registration license plate number.
- The replacement registration card fee of $10.
If you have any questions pertaining to your specific situation, please contact the Delaware DMV.
NOTE: At this time, you must request a replacement registration in person. The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does not offer vehicle registration document replacements online or by mail at this time.
Lost, Stolen, or Damaged Delaware Tags
A vehicle without license plates is a red flag for law enforcement officers. If your license plates have been lost or stolen, you should replace them as soon as you can. If your license plates have been damaged to the point where they are no longer legible, you should also request a replacement.
NOTE: You'll need to report lost or stolen license plates to your local law enforcement. Take the police report with you to your local DE DMV when you apply for replacement tags.
To request duplicate license plates, you'll need to visit your local Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in person and:
- Take a copy of your Delaware title along.
- If there is a lien on your car, the Delaware DMV will provide you with a form to submit to your lien holder for completion.
- Provide proof of your current car insurance.
- Pay the $10 replacement license plate and registration sticker fee.
While you wait for the paperwork to be processed and a new tag issued, the Delaware DMV will give you a temporary tag.
NOTE: While you have the option of requesting the same license plate number, the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) recommends that you get a new license plate number when your plate goes missing. The DMV can cancel your lost/stolen number in its records. It's safer for you to have a new license plate number as the thief may be using your old tag on the wrong car, which may cause problems for you if he or she is ever caught.