Driving Records in Delaware
You can order your driving record through the Delaware DMV:
For further details on driving records in Delaware, keep reading below!
Driving Records in Delaware
A driving record issued by the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) documents your driving history over the past 3 years, which includes the current status of your DE driver's license as well as any suspensions, and/or convictions (moving violations).
Consider getting a driver record for the following types of inquiries:
- Personal: You may need your DE driving record for employment or identification.
- Legal: Any court, law enforcement, or other government agency carrying out an investigation for civil, criminal, arbitration, administration and impounded/towed vehicles may request a driving record in Delaware.
- Employment: Employers often request DE driver records while verifying the accuracy of personal information. Moreover, an employer may request a DE driving record to verify the commercial driver license of a job applicant or current employee.
- Insurance: An insurance company or related insurance-claim support organization will request a driver record for insurance claims, anti-fraud activities, insurance ratings, insurance underwriting, or information regarding a commercial driver license.
- Identity Theft & Debt Collection: A driving record request in Delaware can also be made to obtain corrected information in order to prevent fraud and/or collect on any debt or security interest owed by an individual.
Information on Your DE Driving Record
The Delaware DMV offers driving records that contain information about your driver's license status (suspended, revoked, valid, etc.), convictions, and driving history.
You may only request a DE driving record if you meet the requirements listed on the Delaware Personal Information Release Form (MV703). State and federal law restricts who can see a DE driving record as it contains a variety of personal information, including:
- Social Security number.
- Delaware driver license number.
- Phone number.
- Medical/disability information (if applicable).
Moving Violation Points
If you get ticketed for a moving violation, points will be assessed to your driving record in Delaware.
Your driver record will reflect any points accumulated within the past 3 years. For more information, visit our Traffic Tickets in Delaware page.
NOTE: Points for a speeding violation up to 14 MPH will not be assessed if:
- This is your first ticket within 3 years.
- You pay the ticket through the Voluntary Assessment Center.
You may receive a 3-point credit every 3 years to lower the points on your Delaware driving record by taking an approved defensive driving course.
Need access to publicly available driving history?
If you need to pull only publicly available driving history—to include tickets and court records—our partner below can help you get this information instantly.
Note that this product cannot be used for official driving records, employment, or tenant screening—this partner is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act.
Disclaimer: BeenVerified cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. BeenVerified is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act.
Employer, Insurance & Attorney Requests
An organization will usually ask for your consent to any inquiry of your driving record. There are exemptions to this requirement outlined within the statutes on the Delaware Personal Information Release (Form MV703), which involve organizations such as:
- Courts, law enforcement, or government agencies.
- Insurance companies.
- Licensed private investigators or security services.
Order Your Delaware Driving Record
The Delaware DMV allows you to check your driver record online, in person, or by mail. You cannot obtain your DE driving record by phone.
If you have a MyDMV account in Delaware, you may:
Log into the Online Services page.
- Follow the steps to order your DE driver record.
- Pay the $25 driving record fee.
- For acceptable payment methods, please read the section below titled, “Fees for Delaware Driving Records."
To obtain your DE driving record in person at your local DE DMV office, you must:
- Print and complete the Delaware Personal Information Release Form (MV703).
- You can also ask a DE DMV customer service representative for the form.
- Submit payment for the $25 driving record fee in Delaware.
- To find out which payment methods are accepted, view the section below titled, “Fees for Delaware Driving Records."
The DE DMV will issue a copy of your DE driving record before you leave.
To obtain your DE driver record by mail, you must submit:
- A completed Personal Information Release Form (MV703).
- The form must be notarized with a seal or stamp.
- A check or money order for $25.
- A self-addressed, stamped envelope to send the record back to you.
- Mail everything to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
ATTN: Driver License Administration
P.O. Box 698
Dover, DE 19903
The Delaware DMV will send you a copy of your DE driving record by mail.
Fees for Delaware Driving Records
A 3-year driver record will cost you $25.
Acceptable Payment Methods
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) accepts multiple forms of payment depending on how you request your DE driver record:
Your local DE DMV office accepts:
- Money orders.
- Credit cards (e.g., VISA, MasterCard, American Express, Discover).
When requesting a driver record online, you must pay with a credit card, such as:
- American Express.
If you request a driver record by mail, you must send a check or money order.
Correcting Information on Your DE Driving Record
The Delaware DMV routinely checks driver records to verify the information is correct.
If the DE DMV finds information that must be changed, they will try to contact you by mail. The letter you receive lists the steps required to fix the information on your Delaware driver record.
NOTE: Before issuing you a new or duplicate driver's license in Delaware, the DE DMV will require you to correct any errors on your Delaware driving record. You should contact your local DE DMV office for specific details about how to make corrections at that time.