Traffic Tickets in Connecticut
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee. Unlimited searches for 30 days—only $19.43.
"TruthFinder is a very accurate, updated system. Their information is proper and can be very helpful too." - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page to learn how to take care of your Connecticut traffic ticket.
NOTE: If you fail to pay or respond to your traffic ticket by the “Answer Date," you could face additional fees and penalties, such as a driver’s license suspension.
Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
Traffic ticket fines and court fees in Connecticut vary by violation. To find out how much your violation will cost you, refer to your CT traffic ticket or contact the county court handling your case.
Operator Retraining Program
When you're convicted of a traffic violation, the CT Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will add points to your driving record. If you accumulate 10 points, your driver's license will be suspended for 30 days.
In some cases, the CT DMV will require you to complete an Operator Retraining Program or traffic school as part of your penalty.
If eligible, you may be able to dismiss your traffic ticket by completing a traffic school course.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Connecticut
NOTE: You'll need to check your traffic ticket or contact the county court to find out what type of ticket you received and how to pay your ticket fines. A court appearance may be mandatory.
The steps to pay your traffic ticket vary by county court. You may be able to pay your fine:
- By mail.
Remember, if you pay your traffic ticket, the court considers it a plea of no contest and will immediately notify the Connecticut DMV.
Fight a CT Traffic Ticket
If you plan to contest your ticket in Connecticut, you must submit a “not guilty" plea online, by phone, or by mail. The CT court will then notify you of your trial date.
For specific details about how to fight your CT traffic violation, refer to your traffic ticket or contact the traffic court handling your case.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've lost your Connecticut traffic ticket, you can:
- Call the Centralized Infractions Bureau (CIB) at (860) 263-2750.
- Hours of operation: Monday to Friday, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.
- Send an e-mail to Centralized.InfractionsBureau@jud.ct.gov.
After giving your name and birth date, the CIB will provide info about your infraction or violation.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL), you must notify your employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic violation, regardless of whether you were driving a commercial vehicle at the time.
NOTE: Some major offenses can result in a driver's license suspension of 1 year, including:
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving a commercial vehicle.
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Refusing a BAC test.
- Negligent use of a commercial motor vehicle that causes a fatality.
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle when you have been disqualified or had your license cancelled, suspended or revoked.
- A felony committed using a commercial motor vehicle (manufacturing, dispensing and/or distributing a controlled substance)
For more information, visit our CDL Suspensions in Connecticut page.
Connecticut Traffic Tickets: FAQs
Visit our Traffic Ticket FAQpage for more information about the following topics: