Ticket Fines and Penalties in Connecticut
Find a Traffic Ticket Attorney
Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed.
- Quick step-by-step process.
- Matched to Best Attorney.
- Free Service. No Hidden Charges. Confidential.
Connecticut Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Traffic ticket fines cost the same throughout the state, but they vary by violation. Check your traffic ticket for the section titled “Amount Due" (near the bottom right).
Each year, the state provides a Violations and Infractions Schedule; you can access this list online or obtain a small booklet version at your local library, policy station, DMV office, or Superior Court.
Misplaced your ticket? Refer to Lost CT Traffic Ticket.
Court Costs and Other Surcharges
Like traffic ticket fines, court costs are the same throughout the state.
Surcharges related to DUI-violations depend on the offense number:
- 1st Offense: $500 to $1,000
- 2nd Offense: $1,000 to $4,000
- 3rd Offense: $2,000 to $8,000
Refer to CT DUI for more information about penalties like jail time, community service, license suspension and revocation, and ignition interlock devices.
Operator Retraining Program
Generally, judges or the DMV order drivers who are―
- 24 years old or younger and have 2 moving violations or suspension violations, or
- 25 years old or older and have 3 moving violations or suspension violations
- Convicted of driving over 75 MPH in a highway construction zone.
- A commercial driver's license (CDL) holder convicted of driving over 65 MPH in a highway construction zone.
Failure to Respond Costs
Your traffic ticket includes a section titled “Answer Date." You face a variety of penalties if you don't pay or plead not guilty by that date (such as license suspension), but you also face extra costs:
- Pay a fee to the Clerk of Court to reopen the case. Note that it's in addition to your traffic ticket fine.
- $175 to reinstate your driver's license.
(Plead Nolo Contendere or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Avoid driving record points.
- Experience increased auto insurance rates.
- Possibly attend court-ordered Operator Retraining Program.
Learn more about
Paying your Traffic Ticket »
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
It's common for auto insurance providers to increase their policyholders' rates when they plead no contest or are found guilty of traffic violations―so, these increased rates essentially are additional costs associated with your traffic ticket.
Fortunately, your auto insurance company isn't the only auto insurance company; start comparing insurance rates online to find more affordable rates.
Connecticut Traffic Ticket Penalties
Similar to traffic ticket fines, court costs, and other fees, penalties are fairly uniform throughout the state.
CT Driver's License Suspension, Revocation, and Cancellation
Connecticut will suspend your driver's license for a number of violations―both directly and indirectly related to traffic violations.
License Suspension: When you're license is suspended, it means the state takes away your driving privileges for a certain amount of time. Depending on the circumstances, you might have to meet certain reinstatement requirements (in addition to waiting out the suspension period) before the DMV restores your driving privileges.
License Revocation: License revocations are similar to suspensions, but generally the last longer or indefinitely and involve more serious offenses.
Refer to Suspended CT License for detailed information about license suspensions; meanwhile, note the following are a few reasons for automatic suspension:
- DUI-related offenses.
- Reckless driving.
- Failing to fully stop when signaled.
- Assault with a vehicle.
- Manslaughter with a vehicle.
- Driving with an already suspended license.
Refer to the CT Point System for more information.
Penalties for Drivers Younger than 21
Per the state's Zero Tolerance Law, drivers younger than 21 years old caught operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% or higher face license suspension.
16- and 17-Year-Old Drivers
Minors with learner's permits face license suspension for violating the Zero Tolerance Law as well as offenses like:
- Violating any license restrictions.
- Reckless driving.
- Street racing.
- Using a cell phone or other device for phone calls or text messages.
Check Chapter Three of the Connecticut Driver’s Manual for more information about young drivers.
Penalties for Connecticut Commercial Drivers
All CT CDL drivers must notify their employers with 30 days of getting convicted of a traffic ticket.
Below are the penalties for CDL drivers as mandated by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).
You face a license suspension or disqualification for 1 year if you:
- Drive a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%.
- Refuse a sobriety test.
- Leave the scene of an accident.
- Commit of a felony with the vehicle.
- Drive a CMV with a suspended, revoked, or canceled CDL.
- Cause a fatality through negligent driving.
If you commit any of the following, it's considered a serious offense:
- Speed 15 MPH over the limit.
- Drive recklessly.
- Improperly change lanes.
- Drive too closely behind another vehicle.
- Drive a CMV without holding a CDL.
- Drive a CMV without having your CDL in your possession.
- Drive a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement.
- Violate a state law of texting while driving.
2 serious offenses within 3 years result in license suspensions for 60 days; 3 serious offenses result in suspension for 120 days.
You'll lose your CDL for at least 180 days if you:
- Violate a driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting nonhazardous materials.
- Violate a driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting hazardous materials required to be placarded, or while driving a vehicle designed to transport 16 passengers or more.