Traffic Ticket FAQ in Connecticut
Find a Traffic Ticket Attorney
Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed.
- Quick step-by-step process.
- Matched to Best Attorney.
- Free Service. No Hidden Charges. Confidential.
- What do I do if I get a traffic ticket in Connecticut?
- How can I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
- What if I have a CT CDL and get a traffic ticket?
- What if I am younger than 21 years old and get a DUI ticket?
- What if I'm 16 years old or 17 years old, and get convicted of a traffic violation?
- Will taking a motorcycle safety course help me with a traffic ticket I got while riding?
- Can I take a defensive driving course to reduce the number of driver's license points on my driving record?
- Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
- What is the cost of my traffic ticket?
- How many points will I get if convicted?
- Are traffic ticket fines the same throughout the state?
- How can I find a lost traffic ticket online?
- When is it a good idea to hire a traffic ticket attorney?
- How many driving record points can I accumulate before the state suspends my driver's license?
What do I do if I get a traffic ticket in Connecticut?
You'll either plead no contest and pay the ticket online or by mail, or you'll plead not guilty and fight the ticket in court.
Pleading no contest and paying your fine means avoiding point accumulation for the violation, but fighting the ticket in court and winning means avoiding ticket costs, increased insurance rates, and other penalties.
NOTE: The state allows all drivers with ticket infractions to plead no contest and pay online or by mail, but drivers with ticket violations might have to appear in court.
How can I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
You can either:
- Fight the ticket and win.
- Ask the prosecutor for a nolle prosequi.
CT doesn't dismiss traffic tickets for completing defensive driving or traffic courses.
What if I have a CT CDL and get a traffic ticket?
Determine whether you want to plead no contest and pay the fine or plead guilty and fight the ticket in court. Understand that if you plead no contest or are found guilty of certain violations, you face more severe penalties than do regular drivers.
NOTE: Be sure to disclose the violation to your employer within 30 days of receiving a traffic citation.
What if I am younger than 21 years old and get a DUI ticket?
The DMV will suspend your license if you violate the Zero Tolerance Law, i.e. are convicted of driving with a BAC of 0.02% or higher when you are 21 years old or younger.
What if I'm 16 years old or 17 years old, and get convicted of a traffic violation?
Your penalties depend on your violation, but drivers aged 16 years old and 17 years oldâ€•and teens with learner's permitsâ€•face license suspension for:
- Violating any license restrictions.
- Reckless driving.
- Street racing.
- Using a cell phone or other device for phone calls or text messages.
Some of these violations carry suspensions of 48 hours. The police officer will let you know if your violation is one of them, and how to retrieve your license once that period is up.
Refer to Ticket Fines and Penalties for more information on underage driver violations.
Will taking a motorcycle safety course help me with a traffic ticket I got while riding?
No. The state recognizes no safety courses as ways to satisfy or dismiss traffic tickets.
Can I take a defensive driving course to reduce the number of driver's license points on my driving record?
No. The only way to reduce the number of points on your driving record is to wait 24 months from the date of the violation. The DMV will then remove the points associated with that violation.
Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
Your driving record helps you make sure:
- The DMV didn't add any points to your record if you pleaded no contest and paid your fine.
- The DMV removes a violation's points after the 24 months of waiting are up.
- How close to points-related license suspension you are. <.ul>
Visit CT Driving Records to get a copy of your driving record.
What is the cost of my traffic ticket?
The traffic ticket fine is printed on your ticket in a section titled â€œAmount Due"; however, the total cost depends on the violation, court costs, and any related surchargesâ€•but these costs are the same throughout the state.
For example, each violation has its own fine, but that fine is the same for that violation throughout the state.
Refer to Ticket Fines and Penalties for details about traffic ticket fines, court costs, and other surcharges.
How many points will I get if convicted?
Points range from one to five, and the number you get depends on the violationâ€•or violationsâ€•of which you're convicted.
Take a look at the CT Point System for exact numbers.
Are traffic ticket fines the same throughout the state?
Yes. Of course, they vary by violation, but each court charges the same amount for the same violation.
How can I find a lost traffic ticket online?
You can't, but you can call the Centralized Infractions Bureau and provide your full name and date of birth. An agent will then tell you everything you need to know about your traffic ticket.
When is it a good idea to hire a traffic ticket attorney?
Hire a traffic ticket attorney if you want someone with legal experience to help you:
- Prepare your case, including gathering evidence and witnesses.
- Testify in court. A lawyer can speak on your behalf.
- Examine and cross-examine witnesses and the ticketing officer.
- Negotiate a plea agreement.
- File an appeal if you're found guilty.
How many driving record points can I accumulate before the state suspends my driver's license?
The DMV handles point accumulations like so:
- 6 points: The DMV will send a warning letter.
- 10 points or more: You'll lose your license for 30 days.
- Another 10 points or more: You'll lose your license for up to 24 months.