DMV Point System in Connecticut
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Getting the high score may be a goal of driving video games, but when it comes to the real-life road, too many points is the last thing you want.
Read below to find out more about how points are added to your driving record in Connecticut and the consequences of collecting too many.
Connecticut Point System Basics
Points on your license are like your cholesterol: It's best to keep the number low.
When you're issued a traffic ticket and either plead guilty or are convicted of the violation, the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will add a certain number of points to your driver's license. The specific number of points depends on the severity of the violation.
The points will remain on your license for 24 months, and if you rack up too many within that time period, you'll see repercussions from the DMV, including:
- 6 points: The DMV will send you a warning letter.
- 10 points: CT DMV will suspend your license for 30 days.
After your initial suspension, the CT DMV will re-suspend your license if you acquire over 10 points or more again within 5 years of initial suspension.
This second suspension will last until your license has 10 points or fewer.
The points on your CT license can impact you in other ways, too. Having too many can adversely effect your auto insurance rate.
Keep reading to find out how many points your traffic ticket could add to your license.
NOTE: If points are added to your commercial driver's license in Connecticut, you may face additional penalties.
Already struggling with a high auto insurance rate? It could get even steeper if there are too many points on your license.
Find out more on our guide to tickets and car insurance.
CT Point System Schedule
Traffic citations are rated by severity in Connecticut, with more dangerous violations carrying more points and vice versa.
Below, you'll find some of the most common moving violations in CT and their corresponding point value.
If you don't see your specific traffic ticket, however, you can always check out the full schedule of DMV points from the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles.
Violations worth 1 point in CT are the least common and least dangerous, including:
- Some speeding tickets.
- Not using a turning signal properly.
- Making an illegal turn.
- Driving the wrong direction down a one-way street.
Traffic tickets that add 2 points to your Connecticut driver's license include:
- Driving too slowly in traffic.
- Not obeying a stop sign.
- Not obeying a yield sign.
- Disobeying a police officer.
Citations worth 3 points in CT include:
- Following too closely.
- Passing someone on the right.
- Not giving right of way to an emergency vehicle.
- Driving while impaired.
Violations worth 4 points in CT are more serious, and include:
- Passing a stopped school bus.
- Driving too closely with the intention of harassment.
Violations that add 5 points to your CT license are very serious and much rarer, including:
- Driving a school bus at an excessive speed.
- Homicide with a motor vehicle.
Don't lose track of how close you are to a suspended license! When you order your Connecticut driving record, you'll know exactly how many points you've acquired—and how close to, or far away from, a license suspension you are.
Reducing CT Violation Points
Nothing lasts forever—not even the points acquired on your Connecticut driver's license.
The points will drop from your license 24 months from the date they were assessed.
You may also be able to speed up the process by successfully passing a defensive driving course.
Such courses can only be used to drop points on a case-by-case basis in Connecticut, and whether you can do so will be at the discretion of the court where your case is heard.