DUI Attorneys in Connecticut
If you're facing a charge of operating under the influence of drugs or alcohol (OUI) in CT—also known as a DUI or DWI—you may want to consider hiring a DUI attorney to help your case. A DUI lawyer can help to reduce the severity of your penalties, which may include jail time and heavy fines.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
If you're being charged for an OUI in Connecticut, you may want to hire a DUI attorney to represent you in court. A DUI attorney can:
- Give you all the specifics about Connecticut DUI laws.
- Help you decide on your best plea for your DUI case.
- Confer with the judge for a reduced charge.
When you're researching DUI attorneys in your area, you should:
- Reach out to your network to find out if anyone knows a good DUI lawyer.
- Contact multiple attorneys with expertise in Connecticut OUI laws, as consultations are usually free.
- Ask each firm what you can expect to pay.
In Connecticut, you can be charged with a DUI for:
- Driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher
- If you're a minor, you'll be charged with a DUI even with a lower BAC (0.02%).
- Harsher penalties for any driver with a BAC of 0.16% or higher.
- Refusing a BAC test.
A DUI attorney can help explain your charges to you if you're unclear about the CT DUI laws. For more information about DUI charges in Connecticut, visit our DUI/DWI page.
The penalties you face, from the court and the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will vary depending on:
- Your age.
- The number of DUI convictions you've had previously.
- Your BAC level.
Your penalties could include:
- Heavy fines.
- A CT driver's license suspension.
- Mandatory completion of an alcohol education program.
- Jail time.
- Community service.
Since an OUI can have a drastic impact on your personal life and employment, you may want to consider hiring a Connecticut DUI lawyer to help minimize your penalties.
In addition to your OWI/DUI fines and court fees, you may also have to pay:
- A driver's license $175 reinstatement fee.
- The $100 administration fee for an ignition interlock device.
- Fees for an alcohol education program.
- Higher car insurance rates.
- Vehicle towing and impound fees.
A Connecticut DUI attorney will know all the ins and outs of CT DUI laws and may be able to reduce your costs in the long term.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!