Applying for a New CDL in Connecticut
Pass Your CDL Written Exam with DMV Cheatsheets!
Get answers, save time and pass your CDL exam test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets advantages:
- Use Your Computer, Tablet or Mobile Phone
- Study When and Where You Want
- 24/7 Online Access
- Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed
Get Your Test Answers Now!
Driving a commercial vehicle can be a great way to make a living, but in order to do it, you'll need to first get your commercial driver's license (CDL).
To get one, you'll need to adhere to the national regulations set by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), and follow the licensing process in Connecticut run by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Who Can Get a Connecticut CDL?
To qualify for a Connecticut commercial driver's license, you will need to:
- Be at least 18 years old.*
- Possess a valid, non-CDL Connecticut driver's license.
- Show proof of lawful permanent residency, if you are not a U.S. citizen. Acceptable documents include:
- Certificate of citizenship.
- Naturalization certificate.
- Permanent resident (green) card.
- For more examples, see the list compiled by the CT DMV.
* NOTE: Drivers under 21 years old will be restricted to operating motor vehicles within Connecticut—referred to as intrastate driving.
CT Commercial Learner's Permit
Before you can get a CDL in CT, you'll have to get your commercial driver instruction permit (CLP).
The process is pretty involved, so it may be helpful to take a CDL education course beforehand, although it's not required by either the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration or the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles.
When you feel ready to apply, you'll need to schedule an appointment with your local CT DMV office and bring:
- Your CT driver's license.
- Proof of your Social Security number. You may bring in either:
- Your Social Security card.
- Your most recent W-2 showing your SSN.
- The proper medical forms (see below).
- A completed Application for Commercial Driver's License (Form R-229a), which you can obtain either:
- At your DMV appointment.
- By mail before your appointment.
- At your DMV appointment.
- Proof of legal permanent residency if you are not a U.S. citizen (see above).
- Payment for the following fees:
- Knowledge exam: $16.
- Learner's permit: $10.
- Applicable endorsement fees (see below).
At your appointment, you'll also be asked to complete certain tasks, such as:
- Submit to a driving record check.
- Pass all written exams needed for the type of CDL you want.
- If you're applying for any endorsements, you'll also need to take those written tests at this time.
When all of the above is successfully completed, you'll be issued a Connecticut commercial learner's permit—congratulations!
Your permit will be valid for 6 months and you can renew it once within 2 years of acquiring it for a $10 fee.
What If I Fail My CDL Knowledge Test?
If you fail your written exams, it's okay. You'll be asked to wait at least 1 business day, and you'll have to fill out another Application for Commercial Driver's License (Form R-229a) and repay the testing fee.
Connecticut CLP Restrictions
A commercial learner's permit comes with its own set of rules, very much like a regular driving permit.
While driving with your CLP, you'll only be allowed to operate commercial vehicles on public roads, and only while accompanied by a full CDL holder.
Your CT commercial learner's permit will be valid for 6 months, but you'll have to wait at least 14 days before you can take your skills test and earn your full commercial driver's license.
If you're still not feeling ready when your CLP is set to expire, you can renew it once within 2 years of when it was issued for a $10 fee. Any time after that, you'll have to retake your written exams to earn your commercial learner's permit back.
Apply for a Connecticut CDL
When the waiting period of 14 days has passed and you feel ready, you can turn that CLP into a CDL by taking your skills test.
Schedule an appointment with your local CT Department of Vehicles office. Keep in mind that if you need to cancel your appointment for any reason, you'll have to reschedule your make-up test at least 7 business days in advance, or else you'll lose your testing fee.
You'll also have to arrange to take the test in the same type of vehicle you plan on driving with your CDL. If you can't, you may receive a restriction on your commercial driver's license.
Bring to your appointment:
- Your appointment confirmation letter.
- Your medical certification.
- A receipt from the DMV to show your fee has been paid.
- The goldenrod copies of your Application for a Commercial Driver's License (Form R-229a).
- Your commercial learner's permit.
- Your Connecticut driver's license.
- The current registration and insurance for the vehicle you will be taking the test in.
Your skills test will consist of the following components:
- Vehicle inspection.
- Basic vehicle control.
- On-road testing.
After completing everything, you will officially be a commercial driver's license holder!
CDL Fees in Connecticut
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles charges the following for CDLs and related services:
- General knowledge test fee: $16.
- Air brakes exam: $5.
- Combination vehicles exam: $5.
- Commercial learner's permit fee: $10.
- CLP renewal: $10.
- Duplicate CLP: $10.
- Skills test fee: $30.
- Paid at the time of your knowledge test.
- Endorsements: $5 each.
CDL Medical Requirements
Every CDL applicant in Connecticut must be deemed physically fit for the job before they can earn their commercial driver license.
Before you schedule your initial appointment with the CT DMV, you'll have to get your medical paperwork in line. You'll need to schedule an appointment with a FMCSA-approved physician and have him or her help you fill out a Medical Examiner's Certificate (Form MCSA-5876).
You'll also have to explain to the state the type of driving you expect to do with your CDL, through a process called self-certifying. You can self-certify online through the Connecticut DMV. Make sure to print out your email confirmation and bring it with you to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
The CT DMV has created a page with more information on how to self-certify.
Waivers for CT Military Veterans
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration and the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles have developed a program to help recent veterans and current service members earn their CDLs more easily by waiving the skills test.
Eligible applicants will:
- Be currently enlisted.
- Have departed the service within 90 days of applying for the waiver.
- Have a military license authorizing you to drive military vehicles equivalent to commercial motor vehicles.
To qualify, you'll have to submit the following documents:
- Application for Waiver of Driver's License Fee Because of Active Service in U.S. Armed Forces (Form B-88), if applicable.
- Application for Military Skills Test Waiver (Form CDL-SK TST WVR).
- Your military ID OR a DD-214 if you've recently left the service.
- Your Social Security card.
- Applicable medical documents.
NOTE: The waiver will only exempt you from the skills test. You'll still need to pass all written tests, pay all applicable fees, and bring all other required documentation with you to your DMV appointment.
Replace a CT CDL
If you're in state and need to replace your commercial driver's license, you MUST apply for a duplicate in person at a Connecticut DMV office. If you're out of state when your license goes missing, see "Out-of-State Duplicate CDL Request" below.
Because it's illegal to drive a commercial vehicle without a CDL, it's important you apply for a replacement as soon as possible. Also, be sure to report your lost commercial license to local and state authorities to help fight identity theft.
To request a replacement CDL in Connecticut, head to your local DMV office and submit:
- A completed Application for Duplicate of Current Driver's License or Permit (Form 1-B).
- 1 document proving your identity from the DMV's primary OR secondary list of acceptable identification documents.
- Payment for the applicable replacement fee:
- Commercial driver's license (CDL): $30.
- Commercial learner's permit (CLP): $10.
If you have questions, give the DMV a call at (860) 263-5700 for Hartford residents, or (800) 842-8222 for all other areas in the state.
Out-of-State Duplicate CDL Request
If you're out of state and need to request a duplicate CT commercial driver license, you can submit your application by mail, fax, or e-mail.
You'll need to provide:
- A completed Request for a Connecticut Driver's License/Identification Card by Mail (Form B-350).
- Payment for the $30 duplicate license fee.
- If you're submitting your materials by:
- Mail: Send a check or money order made payable to "DMV" OR your Mastercard, Visa, or Discover credit card information by calling the DMV's Mail-In License Transaction Unit at (860) 263-5401.
- Fax or e-mail: Call the DMV's Mail-In License Transaction Unit at (860) 263-5401 no sooner than 1 business day after submitting your replacement CDL request, and provide your Mastercard, Visa, or Discover credit card number.
- If you're submitting your materials by:
Submit your out-of-state application for a duplicate CDL:
- By mail to:
- Department of Motor Vehicles
- Attn: Central Issuance Operations Unit
- 60 State St.
- Wethersfield, CT 06109
- By fax to: (860) 263-5591.
- Via e-mail to: DMV.CIU@ct.gov (you will need to scan and upload your application).
For more information and help, call the Connecticut DMV's out-of-state line at (860) 263-5700.
Application for Commercial Drivers License - R-229a
Apply for a Connecticut commercial driver's license with this form. You must request the form using the DMV's online system
Application for Military Skills Test Waiver - CDL-SK TST WVR
If you recently drove a commercial vehicle during your time in the military, submit this form to the Connecticut DMV to request a CDL skills test waiver. Must be signed by your commanding officer.
Application for Waiver of Operator License Fee Because of Active Service in U.S. Armed Forces - B-88
Request fee waiver for your CT driver's license if you're an active member of the military OR were honorably discharged. Must be signed by your commanding officer.
Medical Examiners Certificate - MCSA-5876
Certain Connecticut CDL holders are required to carry this medical certificate. Must be completed by a medical professional.