Traffic Tickets in Colorado
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee. Unlimited searches for 30 days—only $23.
"TruthFinder is a very accurate, updated system. Their information is proper and can be very helpful too." - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page to learn what to do after you receive a traffic ticket in Colorado.
Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
Traffic fines in Colorado vary depending on which county you committed the violation. For specific details about your traffic citation and fines, you can check your traffic ticket OR contact the appropriate CO traffic court.
NOTE: If you fail to pay your traffic ticket fine within 20 days, you may be required to go to court.
Pay special attention to your traffic ticket, as some violations may result in a mandatory court appearance.
Driving Record Points
Colorado has a standard points system that assigns specific points to each violation. If you accrue too many points within a certain period of time, your driver's license will be suspended.
Certain major violation may result in an automatic driver’s license suspension, such as:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI).
- Evading a police officer.
- Committing a hit and run.
- Street racing.
Order your Colorado driving record if you're unsure of how many points you currently have.
Car Insurance Rate Increase
In addition to having points added to your driving record, receiving a traffic ticket could also result in an increase in your car insurance rates. Contact your auto insurance provider directly to find out how your traffic ticket will affect your current rate.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Colorado
The steps for paying a traffic ticket will vary by county court. For specific instructions, refer to your traffic ticket or contact the appropriate traffic court.
The county court may accept traffic ticket fine payments:
- By phone.
- By mail.
- In person.
NOTE: You must pay your traffic ticket within 20 days, or you may need to appear in court.
Fight a CO Traffic Ticket
To plead “not guilty" to your Colorado traffic ticket, you must attend the first court appearance as shown on your traffic ticket. You'll then submit your plea and set a hearing date.
For more information about fighting a traffic ticket or appealing the court's decision, contact the relevant traffic court.
Failure to appear in court may result in:
- Additional fines.
- A driver's license suspension.
- A warrant for your arrest.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've lost your Colorado traffic ticket, you can request information or copies from the:
- Troop Office that issued your ticket, for:
- Tickets issued within the last 14 days.
- Traffic tickets requiring a court appearance.
- CO Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at (303) 205-5610, for:
- Tickets issued more than 14 days ago (with no court appearance required).
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
When you are convicted of a traffic ticket as a commercial driver in Colorado, you're required to notify your employer within 30 days.
Some CO traffic violations could result in a suspended commercial driver license (CDL), including:
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) under the influence of alcohol.
- Refusing a blood alcohol test.
- Operating a CMV with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
For more information visit our CDL Suspension page.
Colorado Traffic Tickets: FAQs
Visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page to learn more about the following topics:
- Court appearances.
- Hiring a traffic attorney.
- Defensive driving courses in Colorado.
- Driving records.