Traffic Ticket FAQ in Colorado
- How does a traffic ticket affect points on my CO driving record?
- Can I request a jury trial in traffic court?
- Can someone else appear for me in court?
- I'm 17 years old or younger, and received a ticket to appear in court. Do I need a parent?
- Are traffic fines the same throughout Colorado?
- How many driving record points can I accrue on my driving record before the state suspends my driver's license?
- Do I need legal counsel in Colorado?
- Can I enroll in a driving class to have points removed from my driving record?
Find a Traffic Ticket Attorney
Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed.
- Quick step-by-step process.
- Matched to Best Attorney.
- Free Service. No Hidden Charges. Confidential.
How does a traffic ticket affect points on my CO driving record?
If you plead guilty or are found guilty, points will be added to your driving record. The number of points depends on the severity of the infraction. Find more information on our Colorado Points page.
Can I request a jury trial in traffic court?
You cannot have a jury trial if you're charged with an infraction. If, however, you're charged with a traffic offense, the option is yours to submit a jury trial request.
Can someone else appear for me in court?
Only an attorney licensed in the state of Colorado can appear on your behalf. Some courts may, however, mandate your appearance. If in doubt, inquire with the presiding court.
I'm 17 years old or younger, and received a ticket to appear in court. Do I need a parent?
Yes. Colorado law requires any minors to appear in court with parent or legal guardian.
Are traffic fines the same throughout Colorado?
No, fines vary by county, town and even court, often at the discretion of the judge. For more information, visit our page on Ticket Fines & Penalties.
How many driving record points can I accrue on my driving record before the state suspends my driver's license?
Here's the scoop:
MINOR DRIVER under 18 years old
- 6 points in any 12 months.
- 7 points or more for the period of the Colorado driver's license.
MINOR DRIVER between 18 and 21 years old
- 9 points in any 12 months.
- 12 points in any 24 months.
- 14 points in the period of the license.
ADULT DRIVER 21 years old and over
- 12 points in any 12 months
- 18 points in any 24 months
Need more information on points in Colorado? Visit our page on points.
Do I need legal counsel in Colorado?
Consider hiring a traffic lawyer if you plan to challenge your ticket. Consult with one on the specifics of your ticket to find out if you have a strong case. An attorney who knows the CO traffic laws and the ins and outs of traffic court might be able to help get the ticket dismissed or possibly help get the charges reduced. And depending on the current status of your driving record, this may help retain your driver's license and prevent an increase in your auto insurance rates.
You should also consider legal counsel if you reside out of state. Your traffic ticket attorney may be allowed to appear for you in court.
Can I enroll in a driving class to have points removed from my driving record?
Colorado does NOT offer a point reduction option. However, a driving class is always advised. Not only will it make you a better driver, but it may get you a discount on your auto insurance rates. Check with your car insurance provider if such an option exists. And always after getting a ticket, consider comparing car insurance rates online as your existing auto insurance may go up the next time you renew.