Replacing a Lost License in Colorado
LifeLock Identity Protection starting at $9.99/mo
Our proprietary technology alerts you to wide range of identity threats.
- SSN and Credit Alerts†
- Bank & Credit Card Activity Alerts†
- Alerts on Crimes in Your Name
- 10% Off Your First Year
No one can prevent all identity theft. † LifeLock does not monitor all transactions at all businesses. Terms and applicable taxes apply.
Replacing a Lost License in CO
Losing or having your license stolen can make you anxious, render you unable to drive legally, and put you at risk for identity theft.
The CO Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers options to both help you protect your identity and to replace your lost or stolen CO driver's license or ID.
Report a Lost or Stolen Colorado License, Permit, or ID
The CO DMV does not require that you report a lost or stolen license to the police, but does recommend gathering any evidence of fraud or identity theft that you know has occurred (if any) and filing a report with your local law enforcement agency to protect yourself. If you file a report, be sure to get a copy for your records.
Replacing Your PIN
If you know your driver's license or ID card number has been used by someone else, you may request a new personal identification number (PIN). The PIN refers to your license or ID number.
To get a new PIN, take the following steps:
- Fill out an Affidavit of Colorado Driver's License or ID Theft (Form DR 2153).
- Get your signature notarized.
- Take the affidavit with a copy of your police report to your local driver's license office.
- This must be done in person – you cannot mail or fax your affidavit.
You may also check out our page on preventing identity theft for additional tips on protecting your identity.
Finally, if you know your identity has been assumed and used during a traffic violation, car accident, or arrest, the CO DMV has information available on how to reconcile the issue. To learn more, visit the CO DMV page on dealing with identity theft during traffic incidents or arrests.
Apply for a Replacement CO Driver's License
If your driver's license, permit, or ID is lost or stolen, you can get a replacement by visiting your local DMV office in person. The state no longer allows residents to apply for a duplicate in most cases, but you can get a new card by processing your request as a renewal and paying the associated fees.
Certain groups, however, can apply for a duplicate (and pay the associated fees). They are:
- Minor drivers (under 21 years old).
- Commercial driver's license (CDL) holders.
- Instruction permit holders.
- Residents applying from out of state.
If you are not one of the above, the DMV will process your request as a renewal and you'll be required to pay the full renewal fee. (See “Replacement Fees" below.)
Whether you are getting a duplicate or a renewal, if your license or ID has been lost or stolen, you must:
- Visit your local driver's license office in person.
- Bring documentation showing identification (e.g, a valid U.S. passport) along with proof of address (e.g., a utility bill).
- The CO DMV provides a full list of accepted documentation.
- Pay the applicable fee via cash, check, or VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover cards. (See “Replacement Fees" below.)
Your replacement will be mailed to you. Allow 30 days for it to arrive.
Replacement Driver's License Fees in CO
Your fee will vary based on whether you are eligible to apply for a duplicate or you have to renew. It will also vary based on the document type you are replacing.
Remember, you can get a duplicate license IF:
- You are a minor driver (under 21 years old).
- You are a CDL holder.
- You hold an instruction permit.
- You are applying from out of the state.
If you are applying for a duplicate, the fees are as follows (Remember, the state no longer allows residents to apply for a duplicate in most cases. You will most likely pay to renew your license.) :
- License (1st replacement): $12.
- License (2nd replacement or more): $16.
- Instruction permit (1st duplicate): $16.80.
- Same for all ages.
If you do not meet the eligibility requirements for a duplicate listed above, you must renew and pay the full renewal fee. If renewing, your fee will be:
- License: $27.
- ID card: $11.50.
- ID card (over 60 years old): Free.
NOTE: If your license has a motorcycle endorsement, you'll be charged an additional $2.
Out-of-State and Military CO License Replacement
If you are temporarily traveling out of state or stationed elsewhere as a member of the military, you may request a duplicate license.
To apply, download and complete the Reissue Out-of-State Extension (Form DR 2989).
Once this form is completed, you have two options. You can either:
1. Mail it to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 173350-3350
P.O. Box 173350
Denver, CO 80217
2. Express Mail*:
Division of Motor Vehicles
1881 Pierce Street
Lakewood, CO 80214
* If you wish, you can have a friend or relative drop your items off for you at the second address.
Remember to include a check or money order made payable to the CO Department of Revenue for the applicable fee. (See “Replacement Fees" above.)
Once your application and fee are received, your duplicate license will be mailed to the address you put on the form, so make sure you enter your current out-of-state address.
Note to CDL Holders: You can only apply for a duplicate CDL from out of state if you have a valid DOT medical on file with the CO DMV. You can visit our page on applying for a CDL in Colorado for more information about medical certification requirements.
CO Commercial Driver's License (CDL) Replacement
You cannot legally drive any commercial vehicle without a commercial driver's license. If yours has been lost or stolen, you must apply for a duplicate right away.
The steps are the same as for a standard license, and you pay only the duplicate fee, not the renewal fee. (See “Apply for a Replacement CO Driver's License" and “Replacement Fees" above.)
If you are applying from out of state (see above), make sure you have a valid DOT medical on record with the DMV. See our page on applying for a Colorado CDL to learn all about medical CDL requirements.
Reissue Out-of-State Extension - DR 2989
Request a duplicate instruction permit or minor driver's license OR an extension on your CO driver's license, for reasons allowed by law.
Affidavit of Colorado Drivers License or ID Theft - DR 2153
Take this form and a police report to your local driver's license office if your Colorado driver's license OR identification card was stolen.