DMV Point System in Colorado
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
To operate a motor vehicle in Colorado, you'll need to maintain a clean driving record. Use this guide
to understand the Colorado point system so you can maintain all of your driving privileges.
Colorado Point System Basics
When you are convicted of a traffic violation in Colorado, points will be added to your driving record. If multiple infractions occur within a specific period of time, you may lose some or all of your driving privileges.
Once you accrue enough points to trigger a suspension, your case will be handed to a hearing officer. The exact length of your license suspension will be left up to the hearing officer, but it will be:
- 6 months at the shortest.
- 1 year at the longest.
The hearing officer will use a number of factors from your driving history to determine the length of your license suspension, including whether you have:
- Repeat offenses/violations.
- A history of accidents.
- Failed to disclose any pending traffic tickets.
- Shown an improvement in your driving history.
- Could be used to argue for a shorter license suspension.
Point Totals for Suspended CO License
The number of points assigned to your driving record will depend on the type of infraction you are convicted of. In Colorado, point suspensions are based on age.
Minors Under 18
For minors younger than 18 years old, you may have your driver's license suspended if receive:
- 6 points or more within 12 months.
- 7 points or more at any time while under the age of 18 years old.
Minors 18 to 21
If you are a minor driver between 18 and 21 years old, your driver's license may be suspended if you receive:
- 9 points or more within 12 months.
- 12 points or more within 24 months.
- 14 points or more at any point while 18 and 21 years old.
Adults 21 & Older
For adult drivers 21 years old or older, your driving privileges may be suspended if you accumulate:
- 12 points or more within 12 months.
- 18 points or more within 24 months.
Point Totals on Special Licenses
If you have a Colorado chauffeur license, infractions that occur during employment may result in points being added to your special license. These points could affect your employment if you are working as a taxi driver or other for-hire driver.
Your chauffeur's license may be suspended if you receive:
- 16 points or more within 12 months.
- 24 points or more within 24 months.
- 28 points or more within 48 months.
Colorado Point System Schedule
A few of the common point infractions resulting in points on your driving record if convicted are listed below.
12-Point Automatic Suspensions
- Leaving the scene of an accident: 12 points.
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI): 12 points.
- Street racing: 12 points.
- Evading law enforcement: 12 points.
- Driving 40 MPH or more over the posted speed limit: 12 points.
6 & 8-Point Violations
- Reckless driving: 8 points.
- Driving 20 through 39 MPH above the posted speed limit: 6 points.
- Failing to stop for a school bus: 6 points.
- Driving 10 through 19 MPH above the posted speed limit: 4 points.
- Careless driving: 4 points.
- Illegal or improper passing: 4 points.
- Failure to show proof of insurance: 4 points.
3-Point Violations & Under
- Failing to yield the right-of-way: 3 points.
- Improper turn: 3 points.
- Failing to use/improper use of turn signals: 2 points.
- Driving 5 through 9 MPH above the posted speed limit: 1 point.
Point Reductions in Colorado
There are no statewide programs in Colorado for dismissing traffic tickets or reducing points through traffic school or defensive driving courses. However, each county or city municipal may offer a reduction in points for attending such courses. This decision is left up to each individual court.
Defensive driving courses may be required for some offenses such as DUI or reckless driving. In addition, defensive driving courses may also be taken to lower insurance premiums. Check with your insurance provider for more information.
Colorado Probationary Driver's Licenses
Commonly referred to as a “red license," a probationary driver's license (PDL) may be an option at your point suspension hearing. PDLs are issued at your hearing officer's discretion.
When you are issued a PDL, you will be allowed to retain some driving privileges. Some of the reasons you may be allowed to continue driving include:
- Transportation to and from:
- Medical appointments.
- Child-care issues.
While operating a vehicle with a PDL, any moving violation infraction you receive will automatically suspend these privileges. If you are driving for a reason other than those specified by the court, your PDL may be taken by a law enforcement officer.